Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
It was very good for my 1st time making NC BBQ. I'm from MA living in NC right now. I make it very different usually. I'm preferring vinegar these days. I don't have cayenne in the house so I used chili powder. Still yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Haverhill, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Havelock, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Just like the kind I had in North Carolina...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JiNKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union City, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I smoked a couple of 8lb butts and made this sauce and 2 others. I let everyone choose the type of sauce they wanted. As fate would have it, one of the people that we had over is from NC. She said this is just like she remembers her grandfather making!! Where we live, most people slather on the thick, sweet, tomato-based sauces. It was good to taste pork with the tang of vinegar, they go well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Growing up in NC, I've eaten a lot of NC BBQ but I've never made it myself. All I could taste was vinegar. What did I do wrong? I followed the recipe EXACTLY. I was hoping for something like Smithfield's BBQ but this was sour and overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockerchic821

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Good flavor, but I prefer the sauce with the pepper flakes in it as opposed to the ground pepper. The ground pepper seems to make it hotter than the flakes do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Youngsville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Wow dis da s h i t!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Living In: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Definitely a good sauce! It was a little peppery for my husband but not nearly as much bite once it was on the meat than by itself. I ended up cooking it on the stove since I didnt have a few days to wait for the flavors to blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
My dad loved this sauce, said it was like his mama use to make! I put it on pulled pork in the crockpot. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Super Easy, Very Authentic, Great Flavor. I used Texas Pete's Hot sauce since I had no Tobasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRAILINDAWG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I thought this sauce was very good, but a little to tangy for me. Next time, I will use the full amount of cider vinegar and leave out the white vinegar for a more mellow flavor. I also reduced the cayenne pepper and added red pepper flakes since I saw that in so many other NC BBQ sauce recipes on this site. I did enjoy this sauce and I will try it again when we make pulled pork in the slow cooker so it will have time to mellow out while cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States