Eastern North Carolina BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Excellent! Lived in N.C. as a child and this is the way I remember the BBQ. I used Texas Pete as the hot sauce and used a tablespoon of crushed Red Pepper to replace the cayenne. It tastes great either way. An excellent recipe to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Exceptional Eastern NC BBQ Sauce. Reminds me of B's BBQ in Greenville. So good it'll make you slap yo mamma!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
I used red pepper flakes instead of ground cayenne pepper - I have a bottle of this in my fridge at all times! Use a little of this, a pork butt and a crock pot - cook until it pulls apart with w forks ('pulled pork'), drain the juice. Serve on a hamburger bunn with more sauce and really good coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
Excellent! Just like the eastern north Carolina vinegar sauce that is so popular in restaurants, My family will always enjoy this recipes...easy to make! Great with emeril 's. Coleslaw recipe for barbecue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Ha!! With this recipe I can finally have a real eastern NC pig-pickin here in NOVA!! I lived in NC for years (Decades Ago) and have been trying to recreate the taste (no restaurants come close) and here it is!!! Thank you Al Gore for inventing the internet!!! And thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
I will admit that I had never actually had real barbeque unil I moved to Durham, NC for college. Since then I have become an addicted to real barbeque and have eaten at restaurants all around the country. I was skeptical about this recipe at first, but after trying it. I realized that this is a really good recipe, I have used this as a basis to develop my own sauce, but it does represent true NC flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
You want to make this receipe a whole lot better. Use Texas Pete. Add 1 cup of water. Put in a sauce or boiler pot and bring to a boil and cover. Let it simmer for at least 20 minutes, tightly covered. I perfer using red pepper mixed and crushed well to almost a powder in a mortar/pestle. This sauce is have more flavor as the ingredients are now cooked together. It is much better when using on pit cooked hog. I usually make it by the gallon and use while cooking. 7 hours down and then 1 hour up and make sure you don't stick the hog. This allows the juices to run off which isn't good. Then use this sauce to flavor if you are cutting it up. Best sauce made. I also make it with ketchup if having a bunch in from TEXAS. Try my receipe and you will find it makes it much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
PERFECT!!! My father in law is from Albemarle, NC and he has always raved about the bbq. I made this sauce for him and he said it is exactly like what he used to get in the Eastern carolina bbq joints. Me being from southern Colorado and used to the sloppy sticky sweet sometimes spicy red sauce, I had no idea what the difference was. I made this recipe along with a slow roasted pork butt recipe from one of my favorite food network stars Anne Burell. I am now an EASTERN Norh Carolina BBQ lover and I will NEVER go back!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
not bad but, You should use red pepper flakes, and not cayenne pepper. Also cut it down to 1 teaspoon for mild, 1 tablespoon for spicy. Also you do not need to let this set for 1 or 2 days, simply put it in the microwave for 2 mins this will help the pepper flakes to combine with the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KingSparta

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marmora, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I've never had anything like this, and I was eager to make it. It's good. I'm taking it to a pig roast tomorrow. I did add my own touches - just a touch more sugar, and a little allspice, which I love with pork. (I'm sure some will cry foul, but honestly food is about what you love, not how someone says it has to be.) :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama_B

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States