Eastern North Carolina Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Wow! This was perfect! About 3 years ago, I had been to a family reunion in NC where there was a pig roast, and they served the pork with a delicious spicy vinegar dressing that I'd never tried before. Since then, I've had a craving for this sauce. I scaled the sauce by half and made last night. Today, I put a half picnic in my slow cooker all day while I was at work. I added about 1/4 cup of the sauce over the pork while cooking. After draining and shredding the pork, I mixed about 3/4 of the remainder of the sauce with the shredded pork. I served with some homemade cole slaw, homemade corn bread and baked beans and it was just great! Thanks so much. My search for a great Carolina BBQ recipe is over. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Wow! Delicious. I cooked the heck out of a pork roast in the crockpot with a little chicken broth, then shredded it and soaked it in this sauce. I halved the recipe because it really makes a lot. Served it with cole slaw on top on a kaiser roll. Don't know if this is the proper southern way to enjoy it (I'm from New Jersey), but man was it good. Have made it several times now and it always turns out perfect. Great to serve at a cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
My family is from Eastern North Carolina (Smithfield N.C.), and this recipe is right on time. Sometimes we leave out the brown sugar, and use beer for a different kick. This mop sauce is used for roasting the pig, for chopped BBQ. I use it when grilling chops, ribs or a pork shoulder which I grilled a couple a days ago. Very good, give it a try. (TIP!!!! if you really want that eastern North Carolina taste add a little hickory or oak wood to your coals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Wow! Just like the barbeque we'd get when we'd visit my nana and grandaddy in Wilmington... I was afraid it would be too spicey, but no, it was perfect. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
I AM A NORTHERNER, WHO LIVES WITH A SOUTHERNER. HE DIDN'T THINK I COULD DO IT. BUT WITH YOUR HELP I MADE A GREAT SAUCE, FOR OUR PIG PICKING. THANKS FOR HELPING ME OUT. IT WAS PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERWRLD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Absolutely delicious. It packs a wollop, but man is it good on pork. Kudos to you Lori.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
Exceptional ! This recipe gets rave reviews every time we do pulled pork BBQ! Friends who grew up in NC love it ..... and for those who're monitoring certain ingredients for diets - - it's gluten free, and I substitute Splenda Brown Sugar for those watching sugar intake. A real winner !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NONA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
This was excellent. Served it with Sarge's EZ Pulled Pork from this site. Great flavor! I did scale back the recipe considerably because I was only making it for my family of 4. I also cut back on the cayenne and red pepper so my kids would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was my first time ever making pulled pork and thanks to your sauce, it was a success! Easy, tasty and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States