Eastern North Carolina Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
I made this sauce and let it sit for 24 hrs. Then I submerged a pork tenderloin in it for another 24 hrs in the refrigerator.I baked the pork with a small amount of sauce poured over it for 3 hrs at 325 degrees, covered, basting once an hr. Then I shredded the meat with 2 forks and poured the rest of the sauce over it, turned off the oven and when it was time to eat (about 1 1/2 hrs later)popped it on buns and ate heartily. Loved it! Nice & spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2001
Thanks for the "real" Carolina BBQ sauce recipe. A friend makes this all the time, but says the recipe is an old family secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Wow! This was perfect! About 3 years ago, I had been to a family reunion in NC where there was a pig roast, and they served the pork with a delicious spicy vinegar dressing that I'd never tried before. Since then, I've had a craving for this sauce. I scaled the sauce by half and made last night. Today, I put a half picnic in my slow cooker all day while I was at work. I added about 1/4 cup of the sauce over the pork while cooking. After draining and shredding the pork, I mixed about 3/4 of the remainder of the sauce with the shredded pork. I served with some homemade cole slaw, homemade corn bread and baked beans and it was just great! Thanks so much. My search for a great Carolina BBQ recipe is over. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
My family is from Eastern North Carolina (Smithfield N.C.), and this recipe is right on time. Sometimes we leave out the brown sugar, and use beer for a different kick. This mop sauce is used for roasting the pig, for chopped BBQ. I use it when grilling chops, ribs or a pork shoulder which I grilled a couple a days ago. Very good, give it a try. (TIP!!!! if you really want that eastern North Carolina taste add a little hickory or oak wood to your coals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claudette P Henry

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2005
Definately had the NC vinegar flavor. The spicyness got in the way a little bit. I would suggest cutting back if you don't like your sauce super hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
I lived in NC for years & love the BBQ there. This sauce is as close as I have come to the taste of "Carolina BBQ". Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Wow! Just like the barbeque we'd get when we'd visit my nana and grandaddy in Wilmington... I was afraid it would be too spicey, but no, it was perfect. Thank you so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
Used this sauce on pork BBQ and it was great! Very spicy and tangy, but I like it like that and so did 20 guys! Next time I might add a bit more brown sugar and go a little lighter on the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2003
This is not your typical bbq sauce, it's tangy yet spicy. It is great on bbq pork roast. I grill alot and i tried it on my pork.... everybody raved over it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WDW3264

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Deposit, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
My husband LOVED this. We lived in Eastern NC for 5 years. Since we've left, this is definitely the closest we've ever been to getting the "real thing". Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States