Eastern North Carolina Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Just served this to 300 of my closest friends. They could not get enough. Was great with pork shoulder and loin. Totally reminds me of the best bbq joints in Eastern Carolina (North and occasionally South). Easy sauce to make; guaranteed crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Always so great over pulled pork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
All I can say is oh my goodness! This is so good! I grew up in southeastern NC, and I grew up on this type of BBQ. It's just like I remember at family dinners growing up. My husband who is from Iowa said this BBQ recipe was better than some of the restaurants in NC who serve this. I accidently put a little more hot sauce than called for, so I ended up putting a tad bit more brown sugar in it to even out the taste. I wanted to make sure my son could eat it also. I slow cooked a pork tenderloin in the oven for 1 1/2 to 2 hours, shredded the meat with two forks, and then poured the sauce over it. I drained all of the excess sauce back into a cup just in case my husband wanted a little extra, but we ended up not needing it. Thank you so much for posting this recipe! Now when I move to Iowa in 6 months, I can bring a piece of home with me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Absolutely spot on. We lived in Zebulon, NC and used to drive out to the coast to get the barbeque at Simp's. I've been looking for this recipe for years. It's the closest to Simp's I've ever found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Didnt turn out that great for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Very authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
I've made this a few times and I always get requests for it. AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
Man! This sure does remind me of home. I love to sprinkle this on greens and chopped BBQ. This is some good eats! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Deevah Socialite

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Snow Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This recipe is right on. I was tasked by my sister to come up with something new (as opposed to the traditional ham sandwiches) to serve at our parents 40th wedding anniversary. I decided to bring a bit of the South to the North. I am a native of Minnesota (home of the HotDish) and have lived in SE Virginia for the past 15 years, so I know that new tastes don't usually come without recourse, especially with my family. I am happy to say that the Carolina Barbeque was a hit and turned out to be the perfect picnic style celebration food, and yes, I went all out and served the slaw for the correct consumption of this Southern favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
This was my first time ever making pulled pork and thanks to your sauce, it was a success! Easy, tasty and definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States