Eastern North Carolina Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I'm an Eastern North Carolina native and I have to say that this recipe is quite authentic. I typically pick up the locally made spice pouch from the Piggly Wiggly in town. But since I never get down that way (from my home in Raleigh), I had to put this one together in anticipation of a Pig Pickin' that I'm having in a month (these sauces are always better when you let them marinate over time). For those giving this recipe a 1 star based on it being "too vinegary" check the ingredients. This thing is 99% vinegar. What do you expect? All-in-all, the recipe is authentic to what I've grown to expect out of an Eastern North Carolina barbeque sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
To vinegary for my husband's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I adore Southern BBQ. I am in the Midwest and everyone makes it with bbq sauce which is not real bbq to me. When I want the 'real thing', I either make this or have my sister ship me some from NC. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Buffalo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
My husband and I had a pretty big pig-pickin and used this sauce. My husband's from Goldsboro, NC, and he was so happy when this sauce was used. Even the guests who we considered "yankees" loved it! Thanks for giving my hubby a taste of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAMWIFE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I loved this sauce. I made it for my daughter's graduation party( in Texas), most guests chose a Texas style bbq sauce, but for me when eating pulled pork it has to be Carolina style sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bhuman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
It is hard for me to rate this recipe. I found the taste by itself too vinegary. However, I did use it as a baste for my pulled pork and my beef brisket. I later added some of it to my barbecue sauce that I used for the pulled pork and it worked really well. But if I had to use this as a sauce by itself, NO. So as a basting sauce I give it a 4 star, to blend in with your favorite sauce for pulled pork, after you'ved pulled/chopped the pork I give it 4 stars, as a barbecue sauce by itself, I give it 0 stars. And because I will use it again for the above, I'm giving it a 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My husband and I both loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Too vinegary for me. Not what I expected and family didn't care for it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe is the TRUTH! I was born/raise in Goldsboro, NC - so I grew up on Wilbur's Barbeque. I used this sauce on grilled turkey meat (I don't eat pork anymore) and it tasted better than it does back at home. I chopped some turkey and made some coleslaw and piled it on a Kaiser bun. Thanks for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was great sauce, still not quite like I remembered, but fantastic on my slow cooked pulled pork sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States