Eastern North Carolina Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
To vinegary for my husband's taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I adore Southern BBQ. I am in the Midwest and everyone makes it with bbq sauce which is not real bbq to me. When I want the 'real thing', I either make this or have my sister ship me some from NC. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Buffalo, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
My husband and I had a pretty big pig-pickin and used this sauce. My husband's from Goldsboro, NC, and he was so happy when this sauce was used. Even the guests who we considered "yankees" loved it! Thanks for giving my hubby a taste of home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHAMWIFE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
I loved this sauce. I made it for my daughter's graduation party( in Texas), most guests chose a Texas style bbq sauce, but for me when eating pulled pork it has to be Carolina style sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bhuman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Richmond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
It is hard for me to rate this recipe. I found the taste by itself too vinegary. However, I did use it as a baste for my pulled pork and my beef brisket. I later added some of it to my barbecue sauce that I used for the pulled pork and it worked really well. But if I had to use this as a sauce by itself, NO. So as a basting sauce I give it a 4 star, to blend in with your favorite sauce for pulled pork, after you'ved pulled/chopped the pork I give it 4 stars, as a barbecue sauce by itself, I give it 0 stars. And because I will use it again for the above, I'm giving it a 4 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My husband and I both loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Too vinegary for me. Not what I expected and family didn't care for it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This recipe is the TRUTH! I was born/raise in Goldsboro, NC - so I grew up on Wilbur's Barbeque. I used this sauce on grilled turkey meat (I don't eat pork anymore) and it tasted better than it does back at home. I chopped some turkey and made some coleslaw and piled it on a Kaiser bun. Thanks for sharing with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was great sauce, still not quite like I remembered, but fantastic on my slow cooked pulled pork sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
Just served this to 300 of my closest friends. They could not get enough. Was great with pork shoulder and loin. Totally reminds me of the best bbq joints in Eastern Carolina (North and occasionally South). Easy sauce to make; guaranteed crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States