Easter Meat Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
To cut the salty of prosciutto boil it first, I use Tuma cheese intead of ricotta. Brick cheese too. No mozzarella. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
This recipe is delicious! The only changes I made was I added pepperoni instead of ham and I only used a bottom crust. Will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
This is a very authentic recipe. For those that say it's missing something- the only thing it's missing from my Italian Grandma's recipe is sliced hard boiled eggs. Otherwise, it's the same ingredients that are called for to make an Easter Pie(or what we've always called Pastiche) Thanks for sharing this recipe- it's a wonderful Easter tradition that brings back great memories of family on Easter Sunday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli O'Dell Morris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
This was a huge success! I did add a number of chopped up vegetables (broccoli, celery, bell peppers, mushrooms) to give it more substance and made one with no meat as well for my vegetarian friends. I also sauted the meat and veggies before mixing it up. Everyone was begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
I"m rating on the ingredients only - I've checked all my usual recipes site and could not find any recipes for Pizzagaina so I tried looking for Italian Easter Pie and I finally found what I was looking for in this Easter Meat Pie. I agree with another individual, by adding onions, garlic or even mushrooms or peppers you no longer have Pizzagaina or aka Italian Easter Pie you have your own recipe for something else. Not that that's a bad thing at all. I also like to experiment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
We really enjoyed this recipe. It was a bit salty, but I think it was from the meats and cheeses. I only make this once a year and I'm glad I tried this recipe this time.By the way, I halved the recipe, but that was the only change I made. It was very easy to put together and tasty too! Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My mother got a similar recipe from her mother, and my sister and I got it from our mom. My two nephews and four daughters also make this every easter - even though some of them are doing it in dorm kitchens. I add 6 or 7 hard cooked eggs chopped fine (with a potato masher) and use 1/2 lb pepperoni and 1/2 lb hard salami and 1 lb whole milk mozzerella in 1/4 in dice to 2 raw eggs and 2 lbs ricotta. Salting it to taste before cooking goes a long way to making it flavorful. As another person said, the pepperoni gives it a pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lexi50

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Excellent! I did add 1/4 cup of peperoni for a little kick, and great tasting! I have always found this type of pie too salty, but this one is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
just like my mothers now all we need is a good cookie dough crust and it will be even better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly. Both my husband and I found it to be salty but not bad tasting. We also didn't find the mix of meats to be anything special. If I do anything like this again, I might use just ham. Or find a good egg bake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mandan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shepherd's Pie VI

See how to make a simple one-pot meal the family will crave.

Beef Pot Pie III

See how to make a simple pot pie with beef and all the veggies.

How to Make Tamale Pie

See the simple secret to this 5-star ground beef casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States