Easter Leftovers Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This was actually pretty good... I used leftover ham and mashed potatoes so I know I had too much for what the recipe called for. I did do what a few others suggested... I added broccoli, about 1/2 tsp of celery salt, 1/2 tsp of onion powder and I doubled the garlic and it tasted really good. The kids picked at it but they are picky eaters.. all the adults who ate it really enjoyed it w/ a good side salad.This is definatly a keeper for all those leftovers after Easter!! ***UPDATE*** I've made this a few times now and I have since added those fried french onions to the top.. the onions give it a great taste and the crunch is EXACTLY what this recipe needs! This is a favorite at my house now and I've made this even when I didn't have Easter leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by giggletush

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2004
This is a great basic recipe - it's so adaptable to everyone's tastebuds. Thanks to other reviewers for broccoli, onion powder, extra garlic, less butter and milk. I substituted Cheddar-Broccoli soup (low-fat)for Mushroom, added a can of mushrooms, a blob of dijon mustard and a little poultry seasoning. I topped it with a few dry bread crumbs for crunch and a little cheddar cheese during baking and watched my husband go at it. I have a request to do this again. Easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
I used everyone's advice and cut down on the potatoes. I used 9 and it was still too many. I would recommend using 7 potatoes. I also added brocolli which was great and a pinch of celery salt to spice it up!!! Great, easy dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Wonderful use for leftovers!! We loved this and we don't care for casseroles too much. INstead of making the potatoes from the recipe I just threw in some leftover mashed taters and stopped adding when i liked the consistency. Based on reviews i chopped up some frozen broccoli and threw it in there. Also since this is a recipe designed to use up leftovers i threw in some leftover mixed vegetables from the fridge.I also used cream of chicken soup. Delicous!! Will definately make everytime we have ham. My husband even asked me to wrap the leftovers from this dish for lunch the next day!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jesup, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Well liked by family, see notes I added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
This is a great casserole for those evenings when you have to drive kids to sporting events, and don't have time to prepare dinner. Just amke this the evening before, put it covered in the fridge, and cook it when you get home. The kids will love it, and it sure beats stopping to get fast food on the way home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
I was told NOT to make this again. My family hated it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Lewis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2004
This was a really tasty dinner. I only used 7 potatoes. I also added broccoli, onions, and swiss cheese. I can't wait til next Easter so I can make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2002
I took other reviewers advice and used Swiss cheese, cut down on potatoes and increased the milk. The Swiss made it a tangy dish. It was very tasty! I've recommended it to others who were stuck with leftover Easter ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
This recipe was very easy to prepare. My husband enjoyed it more by topping it with Ranch Dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Hearty Ham Casserole

See how to make a cheesy baked casserole with ham, potatoes, and corn.

Egg and Sausage Casserole

A cheesy egg casserole with a simple crescent roll crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States