Easter Lamb Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Barbara
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This is an Easter tradition in our family. We have always made a pound cake and using a couple of toothpicks in the head while baking allows for a more stable lamb. Frosting and a little imagination make the Easter lamb a table centerpiece. See my photos '09,'10, and'11. Enjoy, Barbara
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
My family has been making this lamb cake for many years and has become an Easter tradition. Making the cake in two halves is the only way it works with the aluminum pans, at least for me. I use the cake mix, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I WROTE THE REVIEW AND FORGOT TO RATE IT. I'M SURE YOU COULD TELL BY MY NOTE I RATE IT FIVE STARS AS IT IS EASY TO DO, EVEN FOR A NEW BAKER AND STILL FUN FOR A WELL SEASONED BAKER. ENJOY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I have NEVER heard about baking the two pieces separately???? We always used string to tightly wrap the two pieces together. We always just fill the bottom part with the cake mix, and it rises and cooks into the top part??? Out of curiosity I may just try the two part method, but I would think it would be hard to keep together standing up with just frosting! TIP: We always place a toothpick lying flat in the ear part into the head to support the ears from breaking off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
I think she has a good idea...I worked at a bakery, I make wedding cakes & special cakes in my home, so I am a very experienced baker....but I have yet to have a lamb cake come out that is perfect...its either underbaked or overbaked, or its too dark around the edges & my family won't eat it...this year I am baking the 2 halves & the pan I have does not have any steam holes in it...so I am baking chocolate in one side & white on the other...will put the 2 halves together with chocolate canned frosting, then use my own buttercream frosting......for all of you that have good luck with baking the 2 halves together....good for you !!! but for those of us that have trouble, this is a very creative way to do it.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Easter Lamb cakes are a Polish Easter tradition. I have been making them with my mother for many years. We now add an instant pudding mix to a box cake mix to get the heavier "poundcake" like density. After unmolding the cake. cooliing it; I put it in the freezer to let to harderned a bit before I ice it. Then I sprinkle on coconut, add raisin eyes and nose plus royal icing flowers. Next a tiny ribbon is added and tied around the neck. Back it goes into the freezer. When totally frozen it is wrapped in syran wrap then replaced into the freezer. At Easter it reappears in a table display and eaten after brunch. It is not unusual to make 5 or 6 to give to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
The lamb cake pans are not supposed to be baked in two halves. I thought that too, till I found out differently; you'll notice that one half of the pans has tiny air holes in it. You put the whole cake batter into the (well-buttered) half that doesn't have the air holes, which is the bottoml it will be full. Then you put the other well-buttered half pan over it, and snap the two together. It's probably wise to get a piece of string and tie it, too. Then you bake the whole thing in the oven, and it rises up into the top half. You can look online for a recipe to do this, if you like; I'm not sure how long it takes. You can also stick a toothpick through one of the airholes to check doneness. After you take it out, cool it completely before removing from the mold. This way, the cake is a whole lamb! I'm not sure if this will work with a cake mix, pound cake is traditional because it has more tensile strength.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
187 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
nice. It was tasty and good. My family liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
alittle helper tip: use cut sections of a drinking straw on the middle of cake will give extra support when holding the two halves together. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2003
it is a great recipi.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States