Easter Lamb Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I have had my grandmother's lamb pan for over 30 years and have yet to find a recipe that held it's shape and tasted good - UNTIL NOW! Thanks for this wonderful recipe that is now a family favorite. It holds it's shape, comes out of the pan well and looks pretty frosted or unfrosted. I added some lemon extract to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seneca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I am so happy to see that other families have this tradition! In my family, we've nicknamed it "Lambie cake" and we've had the molds forever...! We always do a chocolate cake, but I'm excited to try a white cake (especially for my grandma who can no longer eat chocolate) this year. Our traditional way of decorating includes white frosting with coconut for fleece, and sit the lamb in a bed of bright spring green-tinted coconut grass surrounded by jelly beans and chocolate foiled eggs. It looks so adorable! We also use jelly beans for the eyes and nose. Tradition: half of a black jellybean for each eye and half of a pink jellybean for the nose. Black works fine for the nose too. When I was little my mom would also add a flower made of icing or hardened sugar, with or without a slim, pretty ribbon, around the little lamb's neck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This recipe was really easy and tasty. It baked in the mold perfectly with no problems. It came out of the mold fine. I frosted it using a pastry bag. Frosting it took about 5 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lia
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
The best recipe I've tried with my old cast iron lamb mold. It's a firm cake that holds up well. The only modifications I made were 1) I used Baker's Joy cooking spray to "grease & flour" the mold and 2) I flavored the batter with a couple of Tblsp. of finely grated lemon zest. Came out great --Grandma would be proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Great! I've been looking everywhere for a good recipe for my new lamb cake tin, and this one worked really well. I made my lamb ginger flavoured with some ground ginger. The cake is firm enough to stand upright and not droop or break, and very well defined. I could decorate it with icing but it looks really very pretty without it. My family are most impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This recipe is very similar to the one that came with our Lamb "heavy formed aluminum" cake pan from the 1960s. It is perfect for that mold, which is 7 3/4" by 11 1/2", by Nordic Ware. I highly recommend the 7 minute frosting for this cake as its brittle, sugary sweetness is the perfect complement. Put coconut on the frosted cake and color some green to go around the base as grass. Don't forget the jelly bean nose and eyes (use just a 1/2 jelly bean for each eye). To make it look more like a lamb and less like a dog, you can put a ribbon or some flowers around the neck. Also keep the coconut off the head so it stays more delicate looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This cake tastes wonderful. Next time I will be more careful with greasing the pan - my cake did stick a bit. I added a little coconut extract (1/4 to 1/2 tsp) along with 3/4 tsp vanilla extract to the cake batter and I think it gave the cake a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AngelaMarie85
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I made this cake yesterday and it turned out great! I used the aluminum lamb mold and an electric oven at 375 for 55 minutes. Had some batter leftover, enough for a couple of cupcakes. Don't skimp on greasing the pan. Mine came out almost perfect, but cracked a little. The cake tasted great--springy and not too sweet. We don't like coconut, so I made an almond buttercream and decorated the cake with a star tip, a jellybean cut in half for the eyes and pink icing for the ears, nose and mouth that I used a writing tip for. A lemon buttercream would also go great with this cake. My family really loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Made this cake for Easter this year. Very good flavor. Not too sweet, but just sweet enough and the middle cooked as well as the outside. Held it's shape from the mold very nicely. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Used this recipe for my wedding cake. Really good. Perfect texture and sweetness. Not to sugary so it was good with the icing. Very easy to handel, held up for stacking three teirs and decorating. Stayed very moist as I baked it thursday night, decorated friday and ate it saturday. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollymollymolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States