Easter Lamb Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
This recipe was really easy and tasty. It baked in the mold perfectly with no problems. It came out of the mold fine. I frosted it using a pastry bag. Frosting it took about 5 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
Great! I've been looking everywhere for a good recipe for my new lamb cake tin, and this one worked really well. I made my lamb ginger flavoured with some ground ginger. The cake is firm enough to stand upright and not droop or break, and very well defined. I could decorate it with icing but it looks really very pretty without it. My family are most impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
This was so much fun for the kids, and it's so much better than eating a real little lamb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pushpin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Madrid, Madrid, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I have had my grandmother's lamb pan for over 30 years and have yet to find a recipe that held it's shape and tasted good - UNTIL NOW! Thanks for this wonderful recipe that is now a family favorite. It holds it's shape, comes out of the pan well and looks pretty frosted or unfrosted. I added some lemon extract to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Seneca, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I am so happy to see that other families have this tradition! In my family, we've nicknamed it "Lambie cake" and we've had the molds forever...! We always do a chocolate cake, but I'm excited to try a white cake (especially for my grandma who can no longer eat chocolate) this year. Our traditional way of decorating includes white frosting with coconut for fleece, and sit the lamb in a bed of bright spring green-tinted coconut grass surrounded by jelly beans and chocolate foiled eggs. It looks so adorable! We also use jelly beans for the eyes and nose. Tradition: half of a black jellybean for each eye and half of a pink jellybean for the nose. Black works fine for the nose too. When I was little my mom would also add a flower made of icing or hardened sugar, with or without a slim, pretty ribbon, around the little lamb's neck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
its a great recipie but mine did not turn out that nice, I will have to try again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This cake tastes wonderful. Next time I will be more careful with greasing the pan - my cake did stick a bit. I added a little coconut extract (1/4 to 1/2 tsp) along with 3/4 tsp vanilla extract to the cake batter and I think it gave the cake a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
Perfect recipe for the mold! Highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Made this cake for Easter this year. Very good flavor. Not too sweet, but just sweet enough and the middle cooked as well as the outside. Held it's shape from the mold very nicely. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Zachary, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Petra
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
Thank you for the recipe! I made it in a lamb mold and also in a bunny mold. My son even gave one bunny to his teacher for Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Living In: Prague, Hlavní Mesto Praha, Czech Republic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States