Easter Lamb Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I have been looking for the "perfect" lamb cake recipe as I lost my grandma's recipe several years ago. I followed the directions exactly and it came out absolutely perfect. I had a little extra batter and made six cupcakes with it. I freeze the lamb on a foil lined baking sheet and then frost it while frozen with boxed Jiffy Fluffy frosting and use a knife to make the lamb look "fluffy". I put tinted green coconut around the base of the lamb and then make little egg nests in the "grass". I use small jelly beans for the eyes and nose. Thank you so much for an awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I have the lamb cake mold that was my grandmother's I also have one that was my mother's... Made this for a party for my granddaughter's birthday and it came out great... I frosted it lightly and added coconut right away... (I added a little green food coloring to some of the coconut and spread it around the base of the cake to look like green grass).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Sowa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Farge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I have made the Lady Baltimore cake recipe with this mold for years... At Christmas --- turn the lamb into a deer; add twigs for antlers I, also have the rabbit mold...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
came out very well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIEEATER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Freeland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
it made too much batter for my lamb mold. the taste was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonds, Washington, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anita BS
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I prefer this recipe to the one that was handed down with the mold, which used Crisco instead of butter and 3 egg whites instead of 2; I added 2 tsp lemon zest which came out very mild in flavor; might experiment with other flavors next time, like orange zest and Grand Marnier! I actually made two, one right after the other (twins!) and they both came out of the mold perfectly. It is a somewhat dense cake and not too sweet, which is fine with me, but needs something liquid to drink or eat (like milk or ice cream) along with it! The eyes are raisin ends, the nose an end cut from a pink jelly bean. Statice flowers form the collar. I used an egg-white based frosting with corn syrup whipped and cooked in a double boiler. Now I've got to figure out what to do with all these egg yolks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Perfect. First time I ever tried this cake and had a brand new mold. It was perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jody
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Came out of the mold perfectly, but was a little crusty on the outside. Next time I will reduce the cooking time a bit. Very fun to actually use the mold that is usually just a decoration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I have had my lamb pan for years but lost the recipe book. This is the first recipe I've tried that actually worked. I followed it exactly and didn't change anything. My pan must not be as large as it made the lamb and 8 cupcakes but it worked terrifically. Thank you so much for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Kaeding

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
The cake was really moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States