Easter Lamb Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jessica King
Reviewed: May 3, 2015
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica King

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison Rollette
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Cake was too dense. :( I canola oiled my lamb mold with a paper towel, crisco'ed, floured with a sifter until NO bare spots, and chilled the pans in the freezer. Once the batter was ready, I filled him face down, to just under the rolled edge of the pan, and carefully used a spatula to fill the ears. I added a couple of toothpicks, laid across his ears, and a "cake pop" bamboo stick from his head to his neck (like making a letter T) to add structural support. I tied him tightly together with baking twine, and placed him on a cookie sheet for baking. My aluminum lamb mold only has one steam vent, am going to add one. It was hard to tell when he was done with only one whole to poke a straw into. Laid him face down, steam vent side up, to cool. Cooled for 15 minutes, then took off the back "butt" side of the mold. Cooled for another hour and a half, cut all around the edge with a sharp knife, and carefully took his face side out of the other half of the mold. Cut the bottom ridge of his belly off, so he would sit flat, brushed off his loose crumbs, frosted my cake plate for an adhesive, using the allrecipes.com "Special Buttercream Frosting", which I only modified slightly by swapping a half cup of the shortening for a half cup of unsalted butter, and just dumping a full bag of powdered sugar (bag says approximately 7 1/2 cups), rather than measuring out the 8 cups that the recipe calls for. Slathered him up with a solid coat of white, then added thin squiggles. No face. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Rollette

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
Pay no attention to those who say this is a dry, flavor-less cake. They just didn't get it right. You can't disregard sifting, nor forget the vanilla. You must beat the butter and sugar until LIGHT and fluffy. Respect the egg whites, and don't get them too stiff. Fold carefully, and don't over-bake. All that said, Lamb cakes are a tradition in my family for birthdays. I have always been a little dissatisfied with the heirloom recipe that my mother gave me along with my grandmother's 1900 era lamb mold (with no vents). I made this today, and the ears over-baked a bit, which was probably my fault. Aside from that, it was great. The cake is has a home made angel food flavor. If you don't care for that, by all means consider adding some of the flavorings suggested. I used the recipe to make a 13x9 base upon which the lamb rests...it's not enough cake for a large family on its own. It's absolutely perfect for my granddaughter's first birthday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piedmont, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I inherited a Baker's Coconut lamb cake mold from my husband's grandmother who recently passed away. I wanted to make the cake in her honor, but did not have her recipe. This recipe was fantastic. The cake came out perfectly and tasted delicious. The cake is perfect for the mold because it is very dense. I was really surprised that it came out of the mold with no breakage. I used vegetable oil, shortening and flour to coat the mold, and the cake did not stick at all. I baked it for the full hour, but I think it was slightly overcooked. Next time I will test it at 55 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
It was my first time Easter lamb cake ever. It was easy to make mix. I greased mold generously with the butter and floured it pretty well. The mold filled up perfectly during the baking, following instructions the cake went easily out of the mold. I let it cool well over night before I let it stand vertically. Without any support the head held up very well. We liked the taste of the cake: it's light, slightly moist and not too sweet. Will use this recipe again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
The recipe was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KateC
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made this recipe last night after church using an old cast aluminum mold I have. I had a little batter left over so I made a few cupcakes so I could test it before spending time on making the frosting. Very very good. Not dense like a pound cake but denser than a typical yellow cake so it can stand upright. The only issue I ran into was that it stuck a bit on one side of the mold. I thought I greased/floured it sufficiently, but either I didn't or I didn't let it cool long enough before unmolding. Nothing extra frosting couldn't fix though. I finished frosting it about a half hour ago and is looking good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steger, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I have taken over preparing the lamb cake every Easter from my 89 year old Polish mother-in-law. She always used a pound cake mix for the batter so I have continued that tradition. I follow the rest of the directions as listed. Turns out every time. We frost with whipped fluffy white frosting and decorate with raisins for the eyes and a piece of maraschino cherry for the mouth, finishing it off with a red ribbon tied around its neck representing the blood of Jesus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Great tasting cake. I used this recipe to make a layer cake. Worked great. Here's how to adjust this recipe to fill 3 9" rounds: Click on adjust the number of servings. It says 12. I changed it to 24 to make 3 9" rounds. I would like to try it at 27 and fill them a little higher. 27 uses exactly 9 egg whites. Adjust the oven temperature and baking time. The temperature I used was 360F and baked them for ~35 minutes. Basically, you just need to check them to see when they are done. Use the toothpick test. To prep pans for layers: Grease the bottom and sides, add parchment rounds to the bottom, then grease the parchment rounds, dust over rounds and sides with flour, and tap out the excess. Other tips: Have milk and egg whites at room temp. butter should be soft but cool. Beat the butter and sugar till white ~ 5 minutes. For even layers: distribute batter evenly between pans and the batter in each pan s/b even & spread to the sides. Let cool in pans 15 min., then on racks till completely cool. To make the cake look professional (flat, even, perfect) wrap in plastic wrap and freeze 1/2 hour, then cut off the domed tops and carefully slice each layer into two thin layers. If you love frosting, this is the way to go. Frost between layers as you assemble and crumb coat the whole cake. Refrigerate 30 mins, then frost. I used butter cream. Last tip: if you want yummy butter cream that holds its shape when piped use 1/2 butter 1/2 regular Crisco. Tastes like butter, holds like Crisco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and the cake was perfect. I've tried other cake recipes and my Mom & Mother-in-law's recipe but this was much better. I am a beginner cook and shied from this recipe due to the egg white whipping part - afraid that I would mess up. But it was perfect and my husband loved it! I made it again, doubling the recipe to use my bunny and lamb mold and had enough for a small test cake, I also added a small amt of lemon juice. Perfect again! Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States