Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I have searched for just the right mix for these eggs and this is the best one that I have found! I love the peanut butter ratio because it's not too strong (as sometimes I feel like the eggs have too much peanut butter in them). This was an easy recipe and I loved that you can separate the mixture to make different flavors. I followed the advice of doubling the butter to make the filling creamier. My in laws loved these as well, which is always a plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
I followed someone else's advise and put toothpicks in the end of them before freezing. Just about half way in did the trick. When you put the toothpick in and pick the egg up by it to set it on the tray, you can tell if its in good enough and adjust it a bit from there. I used cherry extract, no coconut, and after I dipped them in chocolate I gave them a good sprinkling of finely chopped peanuts. Then I made the mistake of passing them out to the neighbors. I finally resolved that issue by making another batch and enclosing this recipe. Yeah, these are just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Crawford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaside Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I loved this recipe! Turned out great. I just did the coconut ones. Here are some tips: Because the coconut was very sweet, use baking chocolate instead of semi sweet. By putting the coconut mixture into the fridge for a while before shaping, it helped make them look more egg like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
The peanut butter ones are superb but the coconut ones are too sweet. Maybe unsweetened coconut would have been better in this recipe. I used a slab of dark chocolate candy making chocolate instead od the chips and will definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Two days before Easter I misplaced my recipe for chocolate covered eggs, and searched my "go to" site for a another recipe. Of course, as soon as I found Joan's recipe, I located mine, which was very similar, and I had a decision to make...The reviews were so glowing that I decided to use the "new-found" recipe, and am I glad I did! The consistency of the filling is much easier to work with than my recipe which called for LESS confectioners sugar. The balance of sweetness is perfect, and the filling less sticky to handle. Freezing the egg shapes with the toothpicks inserted, (suggested by one reviewer), made dipping them in the chocolate so much easier. Also, on the advice of another reviewer, I used Wilton (I chose dark chocolate candy discs with just a few bittersweet chocolate chips) instead of the chocolate chips and shortening written in the recipe. The eggs set up beautifully when discs were melted in a small crockpot which kept the temperature constant throughout the process. I agree with some others who needed more chocolate to coat the number of eggs this made. I used almost double the amount of chocolate to coat the eggs. Mine were formed about the size of a rounded teaspoon, which were a perfect size after adding the chocolate coating. This also makes them easier to dip than a larger egg. I have just a small amount of chocolate left over, which I will use to dip fresh strawberries tomorrow. Thank you so much for this terrific recipe, Joan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and the eggs turned out fantastic!! Just like my grandmothers. I mixed the batter by hand, which was much easier. I also made 1 1/2 times the amount and divided the batter into thirds, 1/3 left alone for buttercream, 1/3 peanut butter, 1/3 coconut. I found the easiest way to coat the eggs in chocolate was to skewer them with a fondue fork and dip them. Once on the wax paper it wasn't difficult to hide the skewer hole with melted chocolate. I will absolutely use this recipe every Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've been looking for a really good coconut candy recipe for ages. This is it. I used all coconut and rolled them into bite size balls, froze and then dipped into tempered milk chocolate (no shortning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made these for Easter, Children and grandchildren absolutely loved these!!! I am making them for Christmas in round form for Christmas ball and I will decorate them.The only difference I used butter instead of margarine.. I made the peanutbutter and also the coconut, all went really fast...THANKYOU for a great recipe!! Merry Christmas....IreneK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
These are unbelievably good. I never think of myself as a coconut lover but they were by far the best!!! I also made a batch with Nutella...not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These were fantastic! The only thing I changed was, instead of making separate peanut butter and coconut eggs, I made half and half eggs. So I only ended up with 36, but they still turned out pretty delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

How to Dye Easter Eggs

See how to make beautiful brightly colored Easter eggs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States