Easter Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and the eggs turned out fantastic!! Just like my grandmothers. I mixed the batter by hand, which was much easier. I also made 1 1/2 times the amount and divided the batter into thirds, 1/3 left alone for buttercream, 1/3 peanut butter, 1/3 coconut. I found the easiest way to coat the eggs in chocolate was to skewer them with a fondue fork and dip them. Once on the wax paper it wasn't difficult to hide the skewer hole with melted chocolate. I will absolutely use this recipe every Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I've been looking for a really good coconut candy recipe for ages. This is it. I used all coconut and rolled them into bite size balls, froze and then dipped into tempered milk chocolate (no shortning).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I made these for Easter, Children and grandchildren absolutely loved these!!! I am making them for Christmas in round form for Christmas ball and I will decorate them.The only difference I used butter instead of margarine.. I made the peanutbutter and also the coconut, all went really fast...THANKYOU for a great recipe!! Merry Christmas....IreneK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
These are unbelievably good. I never think of myself as a coconut lover but they were by far the best!!! I also made a batch with Nutella...not too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
These were fantastic! The only thing I changed was, instead of making separate peanut butter and coconut eggs, I made half and half eggs. So I only ended up with 36, but they still turned out pretty delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Very good and easy to make. My wife and I went to extra mile and decorated the candies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dad351w

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
My 6yr old grandaughter gave me a great idea for avoiding the huge mess dipping the eggs in chocolate was causing. After we formed the eggs using a plastic easter egg as a mold, we were going to put them into the freezer to freeze when my grandaughter (she obviously got her brains from MY side of the family) asked me why we didn't just put a toothpick in the top of each one before we freeze it. Now we had a wonderful handle frozen into the eggs to use for dipping them and once pulled out afterwards left only a small hole easily filled afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
Found this recipe about 4 years ago and have been using it every year since. I have gotten many request now for these eggs. The base is great. I have made maple pecan eggs by adding maple extract and pecan pieces. With the base you can add many flavors. Trying white chocolate strawberry and cookies and cream this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
To the poster who is concerned about margarine and shortening... The shortening is used ONLY to assist the chocolate set up.. Since one has to keep them in the fridge, the chocolate can set up naturally and there is no need for the shortening. Butter can certaiinly be substituted for the margarine with no issue, but as there is one stick used to make SIXTY eggs...really isn't a critical issue if one has an overall healthy diet. After all, these are meant to be a treat, not a menu staple! I would suggest instead cutting back on the margarine or butter, it adds a smoothness, but depending on your peanut butter, can actually make them somewhat "greasy.".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sophie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
It says at the end of the recipe that after the chocolate hardens you can keep them in the fridge. You MUST keep them in the fridge, because they have cream cheese in them. It WILL spoil. Take them out of the fridge about an hour before eating for them to soften up. :) Can't wait to try them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Easter Eggs

See how to make beautiful brightly colored Easter eggs.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States