Easter Cheese - Hrudka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Most of my family members make it using only eggs, milk and salt no sugar, cinnamon or other ingredients. When it is served salt to your taste. I like mine slightly sweet so when I make it I had some sugar. I also make it during the year not just at Easter. Very easy to cut in half or double.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIke
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Nearly spot on, Occasionally I toss in a hand full of craisens and enjoy my rebel hrudka! MIke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Was glad to find a recipe for this. A Slovak Easter is not complete without it. The only difference in the way my family made it, no sugar or cinnamon. We just use salt and cracked pepper, savory instead of sweet. I hang mine on the cabinet door knobs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
My family has made this my entire life, my dad used to make it, after he passed, my mom & I, and now I make it for my husband & I. I use 3 qts of milk, 1 1/2 doz eggs, salt & pepper. We never used sugar nor other seasonings. My dad was Slovak, this was his family recipe. I don't use a double boiler, we warm the milk on med heat till almost a boil, then add the beaten eggs and salt & pepper. Stirring constantly is a must. I have an old salt bag, pour the mixture into this after curding, then grab one corner and the top of bag, tie tightly, hang overnite..it would not be Easter without Hrudka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I have had this for 70 years, it wouldn,t be Easter without it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I was looking for the spelling of this egg custard, and found this. Our family always made this for Easter, and I have been doing it myself for the past 20 years. My mom's recipe was a dozen eggs and a quart of milk, nothing else. I also found that it is better to use a double boiler to lessen the possibility of burning it. I use a towel to form the cheese, and when cold, slice it and lather it with the horseradish and beet mixture. We called the beet and horse radish Huren (?) Was looking for the spelling of that as well. I'm 74 years old, and never had it with any sweetener or other spices. But it wouldn't be Easter for me without it. Christos Voskrese! Voistinu Voskrese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
At 73 I still make this at Easter except the next day we coat with butter and bake it in oven til brown. Also I make a smaller one with egg substitute not as dense but healthier, not the same Wonderful memories of family easters of old.Wouldn't be Easter without, beet horseradish ham kolbassi and Hrudka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I wanted to make this as a surprise to my Dad for Easter. This is something that was ALWAYS on the Easter table my whole life, and his. My grandmother passed away 15 years ago and it hasn't been made since. I knew my Dad had the recipe from my grandmother which was his grandmothers but I didn't want to ask him for it, I wanted it to be a surprise. I found this recipe, added golden rasins and it was perfect! He told me it tasted just like his grandmothers. (Who was a Hungarian immagrant.) Thank you so much for this recipe and helping me surprise my Dad. It will now be somthing I make every year for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My family is Hungarian and has always made Easter cheese...I was never sure if it was just a family thing or something more. We don't have a recipe, just make it like everyone else did. Yay...now I know it is more than my family that loves Easter cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
The only difference between this and my family's recipe is that we use vanilla instead of cinnamon. A+. The name is a bit misleading to anyone not familiar with the dish, though--even though lots of people call it Easter Cheese, it's not meant to taste like the cheeses with which Americans are generally familiar. It's *supposed* to be on the bland side in order to complement the salty ham and the bite of the horseradish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Easter Eggshell Cupcakes

Chick it out! Bake these cute little cakes inside your Easter eggshells.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States