Easter Cheese - Hrudka Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
I have had this for 70 years, it wouldn,t be Easter without it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
taste EXACTLY like my step grandmother made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
This is a staple at our table every Easter. We called it Yayashnik. It was served with ham, kielbasa, raisin babka (bread), hard boiled eggs and yes, the horseradish for those who liked it. This is part of the Eastern European (specifically Byzantine Orthodox) Easter tradition. Thank you for sharing this recipe. For those of you who didn't grow up with this tradition, another serving suggestion would be to use slices of this Hrudka on bread with slices of ham. It makes a great sandwich!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
sounds just like my grandmother's receipe, but she used vanilla instead of cinnamon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Don't lose site of the fact that this simple (and many might say bland) dish is the perfect vehicle for Chrin, more commonly known as horseradish beets. My grandmother served this for years as part of a traditional Easter meal, and my brothers and I soon found out it was best slathered with the horseradish mix. I intend to experiment a little with the recipe this year. I'll let you know how I make out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
My family is Hungarian and has always made Easter cheese...I was never sure if it was just a family thing or something more. We don't have a recipe, just make it like everyone else did. Yay...now I know it is more than my family that loves Easter cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I wanted to make this as a surprise to my Dad for Easter. This is something that was ALWAYS on the Easter table my whole life, and his. My grandmother passed away 15 years ago and it hasn't been made since. I knew my Dad had the recipe from my grandmother which was his grandmothers but I didn't want to ask him for it, I wanted it to be a surprise. I found this recipe, added golden rasins and it was perfect! He told me it tasted just like his grandmothers. (Who was a Hungarian immagrant.) Thank you so much for this recipe and helping me surprise my Dad. It will now be somthing I make every year for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
At 73 I still make this at Easter except the next day we coat with butter and bake it in oven til brown. Also I make a smaller one with egg substitute not as dense but healthier, not the same Wonderful memories of family easters of old.Wouldn't be Easter without, beet horseradish ham kolbassi and Hrudka.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
I was looking for the spelling of this egg custard, and found this. Our family always made this for Easter, and I have been doing it myself for the past 20 years. My mom's recipe was a dozen eggs and a quart of milk, nothing else. I also found that it is better to use a double boiler to lessen the possibility of burning it. I use a towel to form the cheese, and when cold, slice it and lather it with the horseradish and beet mixture. We called the beet and horse radish Huren (?) Was looking for the spelling of that as well. I'm 74 years old, and never had it with any sweetener or other spices. But it wouldn't be Easter for me without it. Christos Voskrese! Voistinu Voskrese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MIke
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Nearly spot on, Occasionally I toss in a hand full of craisens and enjoy my rebel hrudka! MIke
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Natural Easter Egg Dyes

See how to make natural egg dye using food products you probably have on hand!

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States