Easter Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
I've made this twice now, and it really does help to layer the hashbrowns on the bottom of your pan, bake them first until they start to brown (I turn the oven way up to 450 and dot butter on top), and then add the rest of your ingredients (and bake at 350). After doing this, I found that the total baking time was shorter than the recipe stated. The texture was much better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1319 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
YUMMY!!! I followed the other suggestions and put the hash browns in first instead of mixing it. I added a couple of shakes of salt and pepper on top of the hash browns and I baked them in the oven for about 10 minutes before pouring the egg mixture over the top. I didn't put quite the amount of milk this recipe called for. I only put 1 cup in, if that. 2 cups just sounded too much, and would be very runny. I also added a few shakes of salt and pepper to the egg mixture because of some comments that the dish was a little bland. This was smelled great while cooking and tasted just as wonderful! Delicious!! Thank you Stephanie! This is definatley a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
573 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Black

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Macedon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
I modified this for a large crowd at work. I used 12 eggs, 1 1/2 cups skim milk, 1 cup lite sour cream, bacon and diced ham. I combined cheeses, including reduced fat cheddar, for a more healthy, lower-fat meal. I followed another reviewer's advice and put the hash browns in first and I think that worked well. I made it up the night before and cooked it in the morning. Word of advice -- allow a significantly longer cooking time when refrigerated. I needed to increase oven temp. to 375 degrees and needed another full hour in the second part of the cycle, for a total of 1 hour 45 minutes. It was still hot when I arrived at work and was gone in minutes. Certainly the best breakfast casserole I've ever tasted and if the reviews from work were accurate, a sure crowd-pleaser. I supplied the recipe to a number of co-workers as they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
523 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Just delicious, and a real keeper! So many egg casseroles contain flour, and I needed a great recipe for my gluten-intolerant friend. This was perfect! I baked the hashbrowns in the greased casserole for about 30 minutes at 425. Meanwhile, I cooked the bacon nice and crisp. Over the potatoes, I layered the crumbled bacon, green pepper, onion, and cheese and poured the egg mixture over all. Then I refrigerated it overnight and baked it as directed in the morning. Some folks may be missing that there are two separate cooking times--45 minutes covered and then 30 minutes uncovered. If you realize this ahead of time, it helps with planning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
This is sooo easy and good. To make this even easier, I use the hashbrowns O'brien (which have chopped onions, red/green bell peppers already in it). The combination of ham and bacon is good or one can be subbed for the other. In the future, I'll also play around with the different types of cheese out there. Pepperjack for kick perhaps? Either way, very good and fool-proof!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Great recipe. I made it for a Christmas Brunch, and it was a hit. I pre-cooked my hash browns and bacon (but not too cripy), placed the hash browns on the bottom of the casserole dish, layered bacon on top. I also sauted my bell pepper and onions in butter before adding them to the eggs and cheese. I followed the advice of others and added more eggs and also seasoned them. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2002
I really liked the idea of having all of my favorite breakfast items in one dish. It was very quick and easy to assemble. I think it would have been better if the hash browns were browned and seasoned before putting into the casserole. I think putting them in right out of the bag made it bland and kind of starchy tasting. Overall I liked this recipe, but think that I'll brown the potatoes and add more seasoning next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I modified the recipe to include a dozen eggs, one cup milk and one cup cheese. Nine adults enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Really good and very easy. I used potatoes o'brien so I wouldn't have to worry about chopping onions and green peppers. I like to use sausage and I cook it beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
I precooked my bacon (my fear is always that it won't be cooked all the way through...yuck). I also shredded my own potato per the advice of another reviewer. This was delicious. Cook time takes a long time...but worth the result. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States