Easter Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Two hours into this recipe, it occured to me that in just 20 minutes, I could have fried the hash browns, made perfect bacon in the oven, and cooked a western omelette. While it tasted good, the time and effort aren't worth it. You have to either wake up early, prepare the night prior, or have it for brunch. I was the only one in my family to eat it, mostly because everyone else grew impatient and had cereal instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Very tasty! I would also recommend pre-cooking the hash-browns before you put in the egg mixture. I also have used Tatter Tots in place of hash-browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Made this for after prom party so I made it more teen friendly...no peppers, green onion instead and half ham/half bacon. Also I wanted more than 11X7 so I added more of everything and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, Georgia, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
We loved it! I made it for Easter Brunch and there was nothing left!! Everyone loved it! I just used a little less bacon, added some ham and more onions and peppers and did the home fries mixed in with the vegetables. I was cooking 2 other casseroles and a ham at the same time so it took a little longer. I cooked it for about 2 hours. But I think if it was by itself it would have taken less time. Yummo! I will definitely be making this again & again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dssantaniello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
This was fantastic! I followed the first "most helpful" recommendation to layer the hash browns first, then brown them in oven and add the remaining ingredients. I would definitely agree NOT to mix the hash browns into the egg mix. Cook them separate as a base layer and you will NOT be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
If you like cheddar cheese you will like this recipe. Overall, the different flavors in recipe meld together. I would serve strips of bacon with the eggs, etc. The Bacon is lost in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choirmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Wonderful recipe! Made some adjustments per older reviews...and some of my own. First...I healthied it up by converting all to organic. Secondly, I substituted bacon with jalapeño chicken sausage. I used 8 eggs and 6 tablespoons of egg whites...less cholesterol :) One and one half cup of 1% org milk and pepper only. The hash browns I put in a greased pan per other suggestions with salt and pepper in a 425 degree oven for 30 minutes. I used sweet onion, red, yellow and green bell pepper for color. All amounts matched the recipe as noted. To make it a complete food group recipe, I roasted organic asparagus in a 400 oven for 9 mins, cut it up and put it in the egg mixture with the sautéed onion and peppers. I used 1 1/2 cups of organic jack and white sharp cheddar...again in the egg mixture. Poured all over the baked hash browns and cooked per the recipe. At the last 10 min I topped with pepper jack...I took the advice of others and let it it 10 minutes to set. Served with org strawberries...complete great meal! Husband said "home run"!!!! Will do again with new and different substitutions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
This is wonderful! Super easy recipe. The only changes I made was to add green chilies instead of green pepper. I also put it in a larger pan and didn't need to cook it as long. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I really wanted to mix the hash browns in like the recipe calls for but also read the reviews about it falling apart if you do so. I added 1/2 cup of flour and 1 tsp. baking powder and it held together beautifully!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago to try it out before Easter. Even my non-egg lover ate it! I did use the suggestion of precooking the hash browns because I like them a little crispy. Fantastic! I was confused in regards to the comments bashing the recipe for lack of bacon instruction because step two specifically details the cooking of and crumbling of the bacon before adding to the egg, onion, cheese, and pepper mixture. As for the cooking time, it was right on with what was stated in the recipe for a total cook time of 1 3/4 hours. Definitely making it for Easter morning! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 264) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States