Easter Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I've made this several times and have enjoyed it each time. My family all loves this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Made christmas for brunch and the family loved it. Made some minor changes because of what I had in the fridge. I used small roasting potatoes. Peeled and cubed them and then cooked with the green peppers and onions with a little canola oil and bacon grease. Then I mixed it with the egg mixture (using half evaporated milk and half lowfat milk). Used less cheese (about 2 cups) and baked in a 9X13 casserole dish for 55-60 minutes covered with foil. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Super delicious, and thanks for the comments that gave me a guide on improvements. I used O'Brian potatoes, which I pressed into a buttered 9 x 13 and pre baked for about 15 mins, I pre cooked the bacon til crisp and layered that over the potato 'crust', and then reduced the cheese to two cups of sharp cheddar and the milk to about a cup, and added eggs to a total of 10. I finely diced some extra onion into the liquids, but it really didnt need it using the O'Brian's, and I should have sauteed them a bit. I LOVED this, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa in Tucson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
There are 2 reasons I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. The first is that the recipe as written does not call for pre-cooking the bacon. You end up with limp bacon and a layer of grease on top of the casserole. I also think there is too much milk in the recipe. However, it is a great jumping point and with a few tweaks it has become a hit in our house! I always fix it Christmas morning but I make it a lot through the year also (even as a no fuxx dinner). Our favorite variation is to use sausage instead of bacon, mexican blend cheese, and add a well drained can of Rotel. Yummy! It's also good with spinach and mushrooms for a brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houma, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
This is one of my go to recipes for guests in our house. I too pre-cook slightly the hash browns, and sprinkle them with pepper. I use skim milk and substitute turkey bacon for regular bacon, and cut it up into one inch bites and pre-cook it slightly, then I layer everything and cover with the egg and milk mixture.....love love love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
This dish turned out very well and did not last long! I decreased the milk to 1 cup but left everything else as listed in the directions. I do recomend bringing some salsa and/or sour creamto the table as a topping to add to the great flavor of this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pthor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Excellent recipe, turned out exactly right. I will be making this for my Christmas morning breakfast. I used some of the suggestions that others posted. I browned the hashbrowns first at 450 degrees with butter on top. Then reduced to 350 and cooked as directed. I also added more cheese to the top. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Yum! Very good - even without the bacon. After reading several reveiws, I decided to start my potatoes in a skillet so the onions and peppers could saute as well. Since I don't keep hashbrowns, I used a bag of tater tots and broke them down to bits with a firm spatula as they sauteed. The whole family liked this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Cooked this today for my book club brunch and served it with blueberry scones. Everyone commented on how good it was. I took other reviewers' advice and baked the hash browns first. I also added some green chiles and used O'Brien hash browns that come with onions and peppers to save time. I think the bacon really gives this dish its flavor. It was delicious and very easy to prepare. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I cooked the bacon before baking. Good thing because although this dish was great when it was finished, it took FOREVER to bake thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States