Easter Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. The only feedback I would like to offer that I split the recipe into two casserole dishes becauase I did not think that everything would fit in a 7 x 11 dish. I put half in the 7 x 11 and the other half in a square 6 x 6. it cut down on cooking time by 30 minutes. I also browned the hash browns first and the dish turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I, too, put the hashbrowns in the bottom of the pan, but first I sauteed the peppers and onions to soften them, then mixed them with the hashbrowns and some salt and pepper and some of the cheese. I found that the hashbrowns on the bottom were rather tasteless otherwise and if I didn't mix some cheese into the potatoes, it all floated to the top of the casserole as it baked. Otherwise, delicious recipe with relatively few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I used potatoes o'brien so I wouldn't have to worry about chopping onions and green peppers and I browned them in the baking dish for about 15-20 minutes before adding the other ingredients. Also, I cooked the bacon the ahead of time in the microwave to near crispy and cut it with scissors once it was cooled. The cheese that I used was a mixture of white and yellow cheeses. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
I increased the recipe for 18 servings and used a 9x13 glass baking dish. I precooked the hash browns as suggested below and used only 1 bag instead of 1.5 bags. I precooked the peppers and onions (PnO) to give a little brown (used one whole red pepper and 1 medium onion, used a little bacon grease to keep from sticking to pan-added tremendious flavor). I layered the hashbrowns on the bottom, then layered some of the PnO, then some of the bacon. The remaining PnO and bacon were mixed with the egg mix. If you precook the bacon, hashbrowns and PnO, total prep time increases to 1.5 hrs if cooking using one pan :( I have a convection oven and due to the very full pan I increased the temperature to 370 for 45 min with the aluminum foil. When it came time to remove the foil, some of the mix stuck to the top. I discarded the top. I reduced the heat to 350 and continued to cook uncovered for 1/2 hr. I could have taken it out earlier but I like it a little more golden brown than the picture. The center set nicely and was not runny. The sides were not burnt or dried out. I let the casserole set for an hour and served. Would make again. May try substituting Canadian Bacon for regular bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I love this recipe. Although what I use is one can of pet milk instead of whole milk. Also you can substitute ham or sausage for the bacon. I want to try it with choriso.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I loved this! I just made to day and cut the receipe down. I thought it was way too much milk and cheese, so I eyeballed it. Also, I followed the other reveiwers and browned the potatoes in the oven first. It was fantastic!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmamach

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
My family is pretty hard to please, but they all loved this one. I served it for dinner and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Definitely COOK THE BACON FIRST. I was confused about that too, and thought that If I were to cook the bacon the recipe would have told me. Thus, I made it without cooking the bacon first - just chopping it up and mixing it in - and I thought the bacon was gross when I ate it. However, had the bacon been cooked it would have been very very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
This was really good. I also baked the hash browns first (I used patties) in the bottom of the pan and then added the egg mixture. When it was done I sprinkled a little more cheddar cheese on top and broiled it for a minute. I will be making this often. For our kids I did the same but skipped the onions and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I use 1 1/2 lbs. sausage, which I cook with chopped red & green bell pepper & coarsley chopped onion. Drain off grease. Then, brown hash browns in frying pan & season liberally with salt & pepper. Combine sausage/peppers & onions with hashbrowns, 8 lightly-beaten eggs, 1 cup milk, 2 cups of cheese. Pour into 9" x 13" greased glass dish. Top with a little more cheese & Bake at 375 for 30-40 minutes. Very tasty. Serve with mixed fruit and thick slices of buttered Texas toast! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LouHoo in VA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States