Easter Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This recipe was fabulous......I made a few changes based on what I had on hand and the suggestion of previous reviews. I did put the potato on the bottom, season with onion salt and pepper then top with butter and cook for about 10 minutes. I also used and entire dozen eggs and just over 1 cup of milk.....2 cups would have been way to much. I used a pound of bob evans breakfast sausage which I cooked beforehand. I also sauteed my onions in the skillet with the sausage and added some chopped portabello mushroom. I didnt used green pepper because I was too lazy to chop them up and also used only 2 cups on cheese which was more than enough and I love cheese. I also added onion salt and pepper to the egg mixture. The cooking time was spot on and the dish was beautiful and flavorful. This was my first attempt at making a breakfast casserole. This one is a keeper. I will experiment with other fillings in the future. You can put any meats cheeses and veggies in it that you enjoy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Delicious and easy! I used 9 eggs, 2.5 cups of cheese, maybe a cup and a half of milk and potatoes o'brien with the onions in peppers already in them. Sprayed a pan, hashbrowns in first, then egg and milk and cheese mixture on top...baked for 30 minutes. Perfect. We had turkey bacon on the side, so I didn't add meat. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
After I greased my pan I seasoned it with s & p, garlic powder, and onion powder; Then added the potatoes and seasoned again. I followed others advice and cooked the potatoes for 10 min. at 450. Mixed everything else together, poured on top and baked for 20 min. at 350.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Not the healthiest casserole, but a great one that everyone is guaranteed to love. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
Very delicious and simple to make! It was my first time making a breakfast casserole. I followed the recipe exactly except used red bell pepper instead of green. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mary
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I decided to change this up based on what I had and to simplify the preparation. If it turned out poorly, I would not have rated it at all, but it was fabulous! I decided to use Ore-Ida Potatoes O'Brien because they already have the onion and green pepper and we like them. I did as others suggested and pre-baked them for about 15 minutes-next time I'll do 20 minutes. I also used the entire 28 oz. bag. Before pre-baking, I generously sprinkled with salt and pepper. To adjust for using more potatoes, I used 13 eggs that I had on hand. Other than omitting the onion and green pepper, I left the rest of the ingredients the same. The amount of milk was still perfect. Next time I will use more bacon (personal preference and skimpy bacon was used), and I will increase the shredded chese to 4 cups. The cooking time was almost dead-on. I removed the dish five minutes earlier than called for. These amounts are perfect for a 9x13 casserole dish. Excellent and easy to make! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This was a really delicious breakfast casserole. I used potatoes O''brien and baked them 20 min. before adding the rest of the ingredients. Will definitely make this again for company or special occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Excellent! I took it to work and it was gone in minutes. The only change I made was used green onions instead of regular onions. Will try this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
This recipe is fantastic. The only feedback I would like to offer that I split the recipe into two casserole dishes becauase I did not think that everything would fit in a 7 x 11 dish. I put half in the 7 x 11 and the other half in a square 6 x 6. it cut down on cooking time by 30 minutes. I also browned the hash browns first and the dish turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
I, too, put the hashbrowns in the bottom of the pan, but first I sauteed the peppers and onions to soften them, then mixed them with the hashbrowns and some salt and pepper and some of the cheese. I found that the hashbrowns on the bottom were rather tasteless otherwise and if I didn't mix some cheese into the potatoes, it all floated to the top of the casserole as it baked. Otherwise, delicious recipe with relatively few ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States