East Carolina Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2001
I was confused when I read this recipe. All the barbeque I've eaten in eastern Carolina hasn't had butter in it, that's for sure. I wasn't sure about the other ingredients. Decided to take a chance on this recipe, and was disappointed with the results. This isn't what I'm looking for. It was edible, but didn't have the right balance of flavors, and the greasy slick the butter left on top was just plain wrong. This may be authentic in some part of eastern Carolina, but apparently not the part I've visited.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I spent 6 months in Eastern N. Carolina 25 years ago and learned this recipe from a senior citizen. This is the best barbacue sauce I had ever eaten. Since then I had forgotten how to make it. I have been looking for this recipe for over 20 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I am from NC and looked for a good BBQ sauce--this is it. Spicy and vinegary! Let it sit in the fridge for 3 weeks or more for it to be good. It's the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
My entire clan hales from Eastern NC and I'm ashamed to admit how much pulled pork barbeque I've consumed. The Eastern NC barbeque "sauce" is mostly comprised of vinegar and red pepper and it is a marinade. It doesn't need butter, the pig supplies all the fat needed. This is NOT the real McCoy. If you go to the NC pork web page, you can find the real thing since pork is one of NC's biggest agricultural products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Fabulous! I am a native North Carolinian living in frigid Minnesota.. missing this BBQ and sweet tea- that's for sure! But i am also SUPER lazy and found a sauce that is close to these ingredients- minus the brown suger at Target- Archer Farms Carolina BBQ marinade- it's good! not as good as this, but close..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I have been looking for an Eastern NC Barbeque Sauce recipe for a long time. This recipe is wonderful! Tastes like the real mccoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Terrific!! My family loves this as the sauce for pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
tastes the same as when we would to fla when i was young. we would stop and get the best bbq on the east coast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GROOVYAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
This recipe leaves meat tasting exceptionally vinegarish. I've use it twice, once to try to get a sauce (more like water) and once to slow cook pork. Waste of a good cut of pork. Something is wrong with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
My family loves this recipe, It is exactly the way my grandmother use to make it when we were kids... Make sure you have enough pork roast on hand.. It goes quick!!! MMM MMM !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldierswife855mpco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States