East Carolina Barbeque Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
I am from NC and looked for a good BBQ sauce--this is it. Spicy and vinegary! Let it sit in the fridge for 3 weeks or more for it to be good. It's the real deal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Fabulous! I am a native North Carolinian living in frigid Minnesota.. missing this BBQ and sweet tea- that's for sure! But i am also SUPER lazy and found a sauce that is close to these ingredients- minus the brown suger at Target- Archer Farms Carolina BBQ marinade- it's good! not as good as this, but close..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2001
I spent 6 months in Eastern N. Carolina 25 years ago and learned this recipe from a senior citizen. This is the best barbacue sauce I had ever eaten. Since then I had forgotten how to make it. I have been looking for this recipe for over 20 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I have been looking for an Eastern NC Barbeque Sauce recipe for a long time. This recipe is wonderful! Tastes like the real mccoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2004
tastes the same as when we would to fla when i was young. we would stop and get the best bbq on the east coast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GROOVYAL

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
My family loves this recipe, It is exactly the way my grandmother use to make it when we were kids... Make sure you have enough pork roast on hand.. It goes quick!!! MMM MMM !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldierswife855mpco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I've made this recipe several times for groups of people. It is sooo easy and good. I win raves. One of the few recipes I make exactly as written. But, don't forget the cole slaw for the BBQ's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Terrific!! My family loves this as the sauce for pulled pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I am from oklahoma and I,ve never tasted barbeque sauce like this.This is the best I have ever had.I put it on baby back ribs on the grill by basting them and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I absolutely loved this sauce. I know some people said it was "too watery," so I did add cornstarch to thicken it up for my pulled-pork sandwiches. It came out the perfect consistency. Otherwise, followed recipe exactly. Will absolutely make it again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aledo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States