Easiest Yummiest Meat Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
As written, I'm giving it 3 stars, but I did take other reviewers suggestions and added some seasoning and reduced the oats to 1/2 c. Even at 1/2 c, it was a lot of oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by toi
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
My boyfriend loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by toi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Gahanna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I give this 4 stars because it's a nice, EASY base recipe. I never make meatloaf but wanted a new ground beef recipe, so with a few tweaks, I think this came out pretty good! I reduced the oats to 3/4 cup like other reviewers said, and I omitted the French onion soup mix (to reduce the sodium content, and well, because I don't own that!). Then I added several dashes of pepper, garlic salt, and garlic, and sprinkled in a few teaspoons of Worcestershire sauce. The first time I made this, I added cayenne pepper for some spice, but it turned out way too spicy, so I left it out the second time. Also, the first time I baked it for the 1 hour, and it came out WAY dry (not sure if it was my oven or the fact I used a dark pan). I baked for 45 minutes instead this time around, and it was perfect! Like I said, good, easy base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
We will try it again but it needs !!!! more seasoning. Next time I will add chopped onion, garlic etc. to give it more flavor. The texture was fine. It's bland the way it is right now
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilbitty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I didn't have French Onion Soup and would have been willing to try it to moisten the meatloaf but I have always used Lipton Soup Mix with eggs and milk to moisten. The reason I was looking at this recipe at all was because I wanted to make meatloaf but was out of breadcrumbs and needed a substitute. I tried the oatmeal in the lesser amount that was suggested by other reviewers with my regular recipe plus I add about 1/4C ketchup to the mix as well. They I take about 3/4 C ketchup 4 T of brown sugar and a splash or two of Worchestershire sauce and mix for the topping. I put this on about 15 minutes before taking the meatloaf out and I cook at 350 so it doesn't dry out. My kids and their friends (who don't like meatloaf) rave about it and the oatmeal was a great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baytown, Texas, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
This was easy and I used 3/4 cup of oats like one reviewer suggested and that was just right. But added seasonings, just too bland as is. Garlic powder, black pepper, salt and some chili powder added a perfect blend. Used top ground sirloin and it baked for an hour. will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachbaby 72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Sorry, but we didn't care for this. I did like that it was very easy and came together quickly with items that I usually have in my pantry. It's a great base recipe, but it definitely needs some seasonings as it was quite bland - in the very least, some salt and pepper. Garlic would also add a nice touch. Thankfully I had made some gravy, so it added some flavor to the dish. The oatmeal flavor was quite prominent (not in a good way), so I would suggest cutting it back to 3/4 cup. For one pound of meat, 1.5 cups of oats is a lot, but I wanted to follow the recipe as written. This could be a four to five star recipe with some tweaks. It's very moist! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
My picky kids gave this a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
My husband says this is the best meatloaf I've ever made. It really does taste great the second day too. I had a slice for lunch the next day in a salad with green leaf lettuce, shredded carrots, diced tomato, and thousand island dressing. It was delicious. And so easy! I used quick cooking oats and egg beaters. The mixture was very watery, but the oatmeal soaked it all up in the baking process.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spaghetti Squash with Paleo Meat Sauce

Strands of spaghetti squash are topped with a paleo-friendly meat sauce.

Traditional Gyro Meat

Slices of seasoned beef and lamb meatloaf served on pita with all the fixings.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States