Easiest Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
easy and really good! the only thing i did differently was butter the bread sprinkle it with garlic salt, add provolone cheese then toast it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
I liked this a lot but I agree with my husband when he said he'd prefer actual sliced roast beef for a beef au jus dip sandwich. So as a sandwich by itself, it was really good. The meat just didn't really seem to fit in the category of the type usually on beef au jus sandwiches though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
Very easy recipe!!! and good too. To misfit and others who find the juice to be to greasy...This is a very old trick my Grandmother used to do, float a couple of lettuce leaves on top off the juice before placing the sliced meat back in the juice. The lettuce soaks up the grease. Keep doing this until all the grease is gone. MUCH faster than placing juice in the fridge to congeal. I have done this for years! Also, should one find anything too salty, place a pealed potato in what ever, cook for a while, then remove the potato. DON'T EAT potato as it will be very salty. Both of these suggestions are from my Grandmother. She was the BEST cook ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
514 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie4222

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
My family uses this recipe as a base all the time. It's an excellent recipe to tweak to your own personal preferences, including meat cuts and spices. I personally add 2 bay leaves, 2 cloves of garlic, 1/2 of a chopped medium onion, salt, pepper and a cup and a half of beef broth as an addition. For Misfit, yes it was probably the cut of meat you used. Another suggestion I've seen is to cool the au jus and then take the fat right off the top. This would mean you'd have to wait a bit before serving, but you'd be rid of the fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
I Love this recipe as a mom on the go. I use a cheap round roast because there isn't much fat on it.(the crook pot does the job of keeping it tender.) I use the OXO beef stock low sodium powder. I also add Garlic and white wine for a little extra flavor. If i'm in a real hurry I will just cook a whole garlic bread in the oven and slice into desired size for sandwich. Sometimes I will slice onion and place them under the roast before cooking, It makes a great addition to top the beef dip with. This is a great recipe to try different things and extremely easly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I used 1 1/2 cans of Beef stock and 1 cup of water. Seasoned with garlic powder, salt/pepper, and dry oregeno. After 8 hours I shredded the meat and toasted under the broiler with provelone. Added some grilled onions, green peppers and banana peppers. Good stuff. Will make this again. Also like other people said get a cut of meat that has less fat so there wont be as much grease in the au jus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronnie D.

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Nice, easy and tasty. I will make it again but will probably add onions, garlic and fresh herbs to make it a little more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Easy and very delicious French Dip. I found the au jus was greasy so I tried to skin some of the fat off the top and I also made extra on the stove top. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Awsome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This turned out ok. I was not too happy with the consistency of the meat being for use in a french dip. I found that it is just easier to buy good roast beef from the deli, already sliced and use it for french dip instead of going the slow cooker route.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCo_Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States