Easiest Slow Cooker French Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
This was certainly as easy as it could be and my family liked it. The reason for 4 stars rather than 5 is that I think it would have worked as well with a cheaper cut of meat (rump roast, for instance)and saved me a lot of money on my grocery bill. Sirloin roast is expensive and doesn't need the slow cooker to make it tender and juicy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Super easy and a nice meal that is a break from gruound beef or chicken. Also nice for kids as it is just beef and buns and dipping. Good price per serving. Two of us have had it twice now, and still have leftovers. My husband wanted the juice a little saltier so I added a bit extra beef boullion second day. The lettuce someone mentioned to use to soak up the fat was a great trick as well. I did two layers of lettuce in the last 15 minutes of cooking. Definitely less fat in the juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deanna Dawn
Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Fabulous! I did make one change based on another review. I used 1 1/2 cups of beef broth and 1 1/2 cups water. The juice was not greasy at all. My hubby loved it as well as my kids. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Very good, easy recipe to build on. We found it to be too salty as written. Will make again adding extra water or low sodium beef broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This recipe was absolutely wonderful. I added a can of beer at the beginning and it really added to the flavor. I used provolone cheese, sauted green pepper and onions. Great super bowl meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
We loved this beef cooked this way! I subbed red wine for the water and added chopped garlic, worcheshire, and thinly sliced onions in the bottom of the crockpot. The broth to dip our sandwiches in was flavored and seasoned perfectly! Will make this for the whole family next time they visit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This recipe provided the basis for an excellent sandwich! I substituted beef broth for the au jus mix and also added some garlic powder, a little salt and pepper, and a little of some concentrated liquid au jus i had on hand. After it was done in the crock pot, i put the meat on hoagies lined with a little butter and provolone cheese. I then, substituting from another recipe wrapped up the sandwiches in aluminum foil and put them in my convection oven at 425 for about 10 minutes. They turned out absolutely excellent! Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Rhoades

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kaukauna, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This is an awesome recipe. I bag it into individual serving sizes and freeze-then we can just grap and go with a hoagie and cheese for a quick and satisfying lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I love All Recipes. Where else can you find a recipe and then read other people's improvements? I made this for the NFC Championship game (go Vikes) and made the improvements that others made; worcestershire, garlic, consomme. I was a little doubtful at first and even my husband wasn't sure about the aus jus. But when we ate it, everyone loved it! And I have sons who love TGIFriday's french dip the best. So for them to say that this was the best they had eaten, that was good enough for me. Easy and definitely something I will make again. I did use a bottle of Bud. That's all I had. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Ulm, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kasota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was a very simple and yummy recipe. I did make a few changes though. 1) I added 2 TBSP of french onion soup to the Au Jus and 1/2 cup of regular beer ( nothing light ) in addition to the 1 cup of water. I also toasted the sandwich as a whole to get the cheese to melt a bit more. This recipe is easy and totally customizable. So thank you Todi for this recipe, it was yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Slow Cooker French Dip

Make this easy French dip in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

French Dip Sandwiches

This recipe is a crowd-pleaser, and your slow cooker does the hard work.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States