Easiest Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This was a very good recipe. The only thing I recommend is to first cook the mushrooms and onions in the butter for a while. Then add the rest of the ingredients. We found we liked it this way a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I cannot see at all why this recipe is rated so highly. It turned out to be a flavorless flour-based gravy instead of a mushroom sauce. It was way too thick--I ended up using 50% more stock than what it called for. I also carmelized some shallots instead of green onions, and I cooked both the shallots and the mushrooms in butter before, as the previous folks have said. To give it more flavor, I added a 1/2 cup of red wine, 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar, and a couple of tablespoons of Dijon mustard. Oh, and salt and pepper. (It didn't even call for salt and pepper!) I also used some shitake mushrooms instead of all whitecaps; thank goodness I did--I can't imagine how it would have tasted without them. Next time I'll cook the four and a bit of the butter together to make a roux, so there won't be so many lumps in the sauce, too. I really think it was inedible, the way the directions have it here (and I'll eat just about anything), but with my modifications it ended up being tasty--like a stroganoff. Without the modifications it would have been a tasteless, white, lumpy paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Excellent topper for grilled pork chops!! I too sauteed the onions in the butter first, then added the shrooms for a minute or so, then added the other ingredients. MMMM-MMM GOOD. Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Very easy and good. I used sliced white onion instead of green, and chicken broth instead of beef, based on what I had last minute. It went very well with baked chicken and pasta. Thank you for a good simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is a super simple good basic recipe. Since it is not a gourmet recipe, it should not be reviewed as such. In keeping with the super simple & easy theme, I used canned mushrooms & onion flakes. I needed something quick (from the pantry) for a beef dinner. It turned out great for my quick dinner! I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I thought this was too floury. It definately needs salt and pepper and unless you like your sauce extremely thick you may want to thin it down alittle with some extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very good! I also cooked the mushrooms first (and added some garlic and salt) then added everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lruddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I made this last night for the first time for company. I don't like mushrooms so I didn't taste it, but everyone else really enjoyed it, particularly my husband. I used veggie broth as another reviewer suggested since I was serving it with a chicken dish. I also had some leftover white wine that I used in place of some of the broth. The sauce came out much thicker than I thought it would, but it was still a very nice sauce. I used the entire 1 pound container of mushrooms chopped in a relatively large dice. I also used 4 or 5 green onions (didn't measure those). I made the sauce in advance and then reheated it, adding more veggie broth as it heated to try to thin it out a bit more. It never got very thin, but it was a nice consistency. My husband suggested that it would be a great mushroom soup. There are some leftovers that I'm going to play with tonight, maybe adding some sour cream or heavy cream or milk to try to make it more like soup. I would definitely make this again. It's extremely easy and dummy-proof for those of us slightly intimidated by making a sauce. I can see a lot of variation possibilities with this recipe, and I plan on trying some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Very good. I agree with other reviewers that it was heavy on the butter, so I'll probably cut back next time. I sauteed the mushrooms and onions first, then pureed 1/2 the mixture with the broth (I used vegetable) in the blender and returned it to the pan. Made a nice creamy sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
I loved this! So did my 6 yr. old! I used the idea of cooking the 'shrooms and onions first in the butter (I used a lite margerine). I also used a few dashes of red wine vinegar! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States