Easiest Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This was a very good recipe. The only thing I recommend is to first cook the mushrooms and onions in the butter for a while. Then add the rest of the ingredients. We found we liked it this way a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
I loved this! So did my 6 yr. old! I used the idea of cooking the 'shrooms and onions first in the butter (I used a lite margerine). I also used a few dashes of red wine vinegar! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Good and easy sauce on pasta. A little heavy on the butter, maybe adding a little white wine...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
A little heavy on the butter, but otherwise very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
Excellent topper for grilled pork chops!! I too sauteed the onions in the butter first, then added the shrooms for a minute or so, then added the other ingredients. MMMM-MMM GOOD. Thanks Sara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
Very good. I agree with other reviewers that it was heavy on the butter, so I'll probably cut back next time. I sauteed the mushrooms and onions first, then pureed 1/2 the mixture with the broth (I used vegetable) in the blender and returned it to the pan. Made a nice creamy sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2004
I made this last night for the first time for company. I don't like mushrooms so I didn't taste it, but everyone else really enjoyed it, particularly my husband. I used veggie broth as another reviewer suggested since I was serving it with a chicken dish. I also had some leftover white wine that I used in place of some of the broth. The sauce came out much thicker than I thought it would, but it was still a very nice sauce. I used the entire 1 pound container of mushrooms chopped in a relatively large dice. I also used 4 or 5 green onions (didn't measure those). I made the sauce in advance and then reheated it, adding more veggie broth as it heated to try to thin it out a bit more. It never got very thin, but it was a nice consistency. My husband suggested that it would be a great mushroom soup. There are some leftovers that I'm going to play with tonight, maybe adding some sour cream or heavy cream or milk to try to make it more like soup. I would definitely make this again. It's extremely easy and dummy-proof for those of us slightly intimidated by making a sauce. I can see a lot of variation possibilities with this recipe, and I plan on trying some of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
I sauteed the mushrooms in the butter and then browned the flour, before adding to the broth. I used chicken broth and added a few drops of worchestershire sauce... very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2005
Very good and easy sauce. I used veg broth - will try the beef next time for more flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2005
My rating scale (cause number of stars is subjective): 1-Didn't like it, 2-It's okay, 3-Liked it, 4-Loved it, 5-Can't get enough of it. This is the best mushroom sauce I've had, not to mention the easiest. It seems as though nothing is made from scratch, real ingredients, any longer... here is a recipe that is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States