Easiest Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2008
I agree with KLCROOKS. This is not a good recipe. It was a bland, pasty goo of flour that became only tolerable when a fair amount of wine, salt, pepper, and thyme was added. It is easy, but it is not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Wonderful! Excellent served with grilled steak. Or for that matter, antime you want a great mushroom side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
This is easy, and tasty. I made it ahead of time for dinner and put it in the crockette. I thickened it a little more with some cornstarch to serve over bacon swiss burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
After reading all the reviews I decided to modify the recipe. I first carmelized the onions and mushrooms along with 2 cloves minced garlic in butter, then added chicken broth instead of beef broth, about a 1/4 cup white wine and salt and pepper. In the end, I thickened with cornstarch instead of flour (based on other reviews, I don't like a floury taste). Turned out great! Served over baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Very good! I also cooked the mushrooms first (and added some garlic and salt) then added everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lruddy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I first melted the broth and butter. Then gradually wisked in the flour. Then stirred in the mushrooms and green onions. The gravy comes out very thick. I added water to thin it out. Next time I will only use 1/4 cup of flour. I will now make this gravy ofen. It has lots of mushroom flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I made the mistake of dumping the full 1/2 cup of flour into the broth, and it got all clumpy. My fault...but other than that it was good. I would prefer more spicing. May be thyme or oregano?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
Easy and yummy! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
I thought it was good, but a tad on the bland side. (A few dashes of Worchestershire helped perk it up a lot.) I also suggest cutting back on the flour so it isn't quite as pastey. But it is easy for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
I cannot see at all why this recipe is rated so highly. It turned out to be a flavorless flour-based gravy instead of a mushroom sauce. It was way too thick--I ended up using 50% more stock than what it called for. I also carmelized some shallots instead of green onions, and I cooked both the shallots and the mushrooms in butter before, as the previous folks have said. To give it more flavor, I added a 1/2 cup of red wine, 1/4 cup of balsamic vinegar, and a couple of tablespoons of Dijon mustard. Oh, and salt and pepper. (It didn't even call for salt and pepper!) I also used some shitake mushrooms instead of all whitecaps; thank goodness I did--I can't imagine how it would have tasted without them. Next time I'll cook the four and a bit of the butter together to make a roux, so there won't be so many lumps in the sauce, too. I really think it was inedible, the way the directions have it here (and I'll eat just about anything), but with my modifications it ended up being tasty--like a stroganoff. Without the modifications it would have been a tasteless, white, lumpy paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States