Easiest Mushroom Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
This was REALLY good! Easy and tasty! Used it for Salisbury Steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanne Lanese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
It was very bland as is. I still gave it 3 stars because it's a handy base if you want an easy gravy. I didn't throw it all together at once, so I'm not sure if the consistency would work out okay that way or not. It's still pretty easy though with some of the recommended modifications. I think next time I'll use a yellow onion or shallots instead of green for more flavor. I thought the ratios of butter/flour/broth were perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Fabulous. I fried pork chops in the pan 1st and then added the butter onions and mushrooms and scraped all of the bits off the bottom of the pan. When the onions were tender I added the flour and cooked that for a couple of minutes before slowly adding the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
The directions are pretty vague, so I also cooked the mushroom and onion a little first in half of the butter, removed them and then cooked the flour and remaining butter then stirred in the all ingredients. Mine came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OneWomanRiot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I thought this was too floury. It definately needs salt and pepper and unless you like your sauce extremely thick you may want to thin it down alittle with some extra broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This was good , but a little too thick.me Think next time I'll add a little more beef broth or some red wine. My husband thought it was great as is. Needs a little salt and pepper, but thanks for a great, easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I made it with chicken and linguine and this sauce was great. I added garlic (because I love garlic) and some white pepper for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Like another reviewer I changed the servings to 8 so that I needed only a 8oz package of mushrooms. I diced them as suggested and sauteed them in the sauce pot with the green onions in the butter first to soften them and then added one can of beef broth. Once the broth started to boil I added the amount of Wondra (not regular flour)suggested, a little at a time, continuously stirring. I added just a few dashes of salt and pepper. The sauce turned out DELICIOUS! The ONLY thing I'd do differently next time is to either cut the mushrooms smaller (maybe use the food processor) OR cook them even softer before adding the broth. Nevertheless the taste was great and this was a super-easy sauce which tasted like I had cooked it for hours! YAY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Lund Hazher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
delicious! i used vegetable broth and white onions, added some garlic and a dash of worcestershire and this turned out great served over pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
really good.. i prepared it differently though. first fried the mushrooms, dumped them out of the pan, cooked the flour and butter together until it was combined, added the stock, stirred like crazy, then added the mushrooms again and heated for a few minutes. added quite a bit of salt and pepper as well. put it on top of wiener schnitzel and mashed potatoes and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Halibut with Mushroom Butter Sauce

Halibut fillets are pan-roasted with mushrooms in a simple lemon butter sauce.

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States