Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I just finished making this frosting. I don't normally like butter cream but this is the best I have ever had. I heated the egg white to 160 as others said. I used the bowl from my stand mixer and just quick ran it over to my mixer. Saved on dishes. I also did as another reviewer states to just keep beating it until it come together and it did. Just like magic it thicken back up. This is worth the extra effort to make. I will only use this butter cream from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soy Free Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Amazing is the only way to describe this icing. A half recipe makes plenty for a sheet cake or if you are using a filling on a 2-layer cake between the layers. The key is to make sure you get full volume out of the egg whites (and I use the Wilton meringue powder instead of egg whites) and be super patient with the butter and add no more than a pat of butter at a time. It takes a while, but if you have a stand mixer, it's easy and this frosting is 100% worth the time and effort. If you refrigerate your cake, be sure to take it out about 10 minutes before serving for the icing to soften or it will crumble when cut. This is my new go-to, standard white icing recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This recipe was fabulous!!!! I used only 2 cups of butter though. It requires a lot of beating. I beat the eggs and sugar for 7 minutes at a very high speed. I lowered the setting on the mixer just a bit and then added the butter and vanilla. Once all the butter and the vanilla was in I walked away from my stand mixer. I came back about 10 minutes later to a beautiful, creamy and delicious buttercream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
Awesome buttercream - the smooth non-grainy recipe I have been looking for! I didn't use nearly as much butter as written but still love it. Next time will make up the night before and chill. Added some sifted cocoa powder to frost a 9 inch yellow cake drizzled with cointreau for my boys' birthday. Can't wait for my next cake to make some variations!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alicia J

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Janesville, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I used only 2 cups butter and found it to be enough buttery flavor, also added a pinch of salt. It was not too difficult to make using an electric hand blender with the whisk attachment(for the egg whites and sugar mixing), and a stand mixer for the rest. Overall it takes some time to make, around 30-40 min., and it was good but not great for my taste. I think I prefer a simple meringue (egg whites, sugar and water) over this. I am not sure if I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
For those who thought this was way too buttery, you can reduce the butter to 3 sticks (1 1/2 cups) and still get a nice fluffy consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Experimenting with frosting for my daughter's birthday as no one in my house likes the "sickly sweet" stuff. I had no problems with the recipe at all. It is not what I would call sweet but for me a bit too much like sweetened whipped butter. In all fairness I've yet too taste it with the cake so it may compliment that beautifully??? Otherwise I would reduce the butter as others have suggested. The texture is beautiful and creamy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
People who are ending up with yellow soupy icing: your meringue is not cool enough and your butter is too soft. When you are adding it to the egg whites it is melting the butter which causes the fat to separate from the milk solids which causes oily runny frosting. The butter should be soft but not glistening and the meringue should be lukewarm when you add it. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baker Beverly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
This recipe is my favorite that I've ever found on this website. It is incredible! If I could give it 10 stars I would. I love the texture of the frosting along with the taste and it has this glossy look to it that is so professional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I didn't care to work with egg whites so I used meringue powder which could be why this wasn't a great recipe for me. Once I beat the egg white substitute with the sugar I followed the rest of the recipe. This is a good base for a great frosting but it lacked flavor which is why I gave it three stars. The frosting did break down and after mixing for about another 10 minutes it came back together and it was easy to frost the cake with but once I put it in the fridge even after letting it sit out for the whole day it still felt and tasted like butter maybe I will do 2 cups instead of 3 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States