Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I think the directions should be clarified. Mine also came out soupy, even after whipping for 15 mins! Use the whisk attachment to get the egg whites fluffy, then switch to the paddle attachment when ready to add the butter. I had a soupy mixture until I switched. Other meringue recipes used just the whisk, but that didn't work for me. Don't give up if you have a soupy mixture. After about 30-40mins working at this, I finally got it! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
More detailed directions. Whisk egg whites, then add sugar & stir thoroughly. Place in double boiler (metal bowl didn't work so I put a smaller saucepan into a bigger one). Stir constantly until temp reaches 160 degrees. Pour into mixing bowl. Whip to soft peak stage. Allow bowl to COOL! Add chunks of butter (1/2 - 1 tablespoon sized pieces). Mix until texture is smooth. No soup. Great taste. This will become your go-to frosting. The recipe amount made plenty for a 9 inch 2 layer cake. I saved the rest & am eating it a teaspoon at a time. It's that yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
VERY GOOD! I've been looking for a buttercream that isn't loaded with shortening and confectioners sugar. I'm wondering how it will store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I have been looking for a beautiful buttercream icing for a long time. This is definitely the one. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of heating the whites and sugar to 160F. I would not recommend reducing the butter. I made lemon cupcakes and topped with this icing and lemon sauce. My 7 year old gave me 15 Stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
this recipe is excellent. its simple and easy. instead of 3 cups of butter i used only 2 cups and it stayed nice and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
It took me 2 tries to get this one right. The first time I didn't heat the eggs long enough--- second time I made sure ALL the sugar was dissolved. Turned out light and silky, but a bit too buttery. Overall pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
So smooth and creamy and delicious! Not too sweet. Perfect consistency and I love how bright white it is. I'll never use another frosting recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This recipe is amazing! It gave me the fluffy topped-up cupcake icing I was looking for. I used my Kitchenaid to mix everything - waiting until the melted sugar and egg white mixture was warm (just above room temp) before mixing. The icing started to look greasy and fall once I got to the half way point of adding butter, just like they said, but I just kept the machine mixing and it eventually came back. Anyhoo - I went with 2 cups of butter instead of 3 and it turned out great. I even used low fat butter (50 ml of sodium) since I could not find unsalted and it turned out perfectly, however I could taste the salt a little. I believe you do really need to find unsalted butter, full fat butter to get the maximum benefit from this recipe. I also think you need to be prepared to doing a lot of mixing! I will return to using the recipe again and again - thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
A few days ago, I made a similar recipe which used a higher egg to sugar ratio and found this recipe with someone's review that said to beat on high until it turns. Well it came out like magic! It was a little buttery so I decided to try this recipe with more sugar and less egg. I have been beating on high for about 20 minutes now and all I have is white runny goo. I guess I'll just keep adding powdered sugar until it gets thick enough... :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
Amazing! I put off making meringue-based buttercream because I thought it would be way too difficult and way too time consuming. This recipe is stunning and so easy! With the end result being light and creamy and a joy to taste! I have made the "American" buttercream for decades and everyone has complimented me on it...wait 'till they taste THIS! Wow! Thanks for making this traditionally labor intensive process accessible to everyone!!! I will continue to make this for special occasions and to the absolute delight of my family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States