Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
I followed these directions to a tee, I am not a novice in the kitchen. I have been beating this frosting mixture for one hour and its still like soup. I think the time for it to "come together" has come and gone. Now I have to try and see if I can salvage this somehow in order to be able to finish a cake order. I should have tried it before hand but the reviews were so positive (mostly) that I threw caution to the wind. I will be pulling an all nighter in order to get my sheet cake out by tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
This is an amazing recipe. It makes A LOT, too. I scaled it down to 18 servings and still had enough for two dozen cupcakes. The texture is great and the flavor is divine. Using salted butter will darn near ruin it though. I made no changes and followed the directions to a "T". This will likely become my go-to frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This is a really great simple recipe. I just finished making it for some cupcakes for a friends wedding anniversary. YUM! I have made Swiss meringue buttercream before, but lost my recipe, and couldn't remember the ratio of ingredients. This one is spot on. If you have never tried this, give it a go. It's rich and oh so silky. I never use a candy thermometer. I rub a bit of the egg/ sugar mixture between fingers. If the grittiness of the sugar is gone, it's perfect. Very important too is letting the mixture cool before whipping the meringue. Using a different bowl than the one you used to cook the egg whites will cool them much quicker than using the same bowl for cooking and then for whipping the meringue. Also, your butter should have a bit of give to it, but still be cold in the middle. This will keep your icing from being soupy. Don't freak out, this recipe works!! Add all 6 sticks of butter and it comes out perfect. To use after being stored in the fridge, bring to room temp and re-whip. You will never go back to using powdered sugar based icing again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami Baity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelmsford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Harvard, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Like some others who tried this recipe, I followed the instructions exactly, and got soup, buttery soup. Having read the reviews I continued to beat it for 20 min. but it never came together. I can't help but wonder if the people who had such great reviews are doing something different, some little step that nobody thinks to put in the recipe, because "everybody" know it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
REALLY REALLY REALLY GOOD! I was worried when it started to curdle, but i kept mixing it and it came together beautifully. It's a nice sturdy buttercream that frosts and pipes really well and it tastes absolutely amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jangmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I think the directions should be clarified. Mine also came out soupy, even after whipping for 15 mins! Use the whisk attachment to get the egg whites fluffy, then switch to the paddle attachment when ready to add the butter. I had a soupy mixture until I switched. Other meringue recipes used just the whisk, but that didn't work for me. Don't give up if you have a soupy mixture. After about 30-40mins working at this, I finally got it! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
More detailed directions. Whisk egg whites, then add sugar & stir thoroughly. Place in double boiler (metal bowl didn't work so I put a smaller saucepan into a bigger one). Stir constantly until temp reaches 160 degrees. Pour into mixing bowl. Whip to soft peak stage. Allow bowl to COOL! Add chunks of butter (1/2 - 1 tablespoon sized pieces). Mix until texture is smooth. No soup. Great taste. This will become your go-to frosting. The recipe amount made plenty for a 9 inch 2 layer cake. I saved the rest & am eating it a teaspoon at a time. It's that yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
VERY GOOD! I've been looking for a buttercream that isn't loaded with shortening and confectioners sugar. I'm wondering how it will store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I have been looking for a beautiful buttercream icing for a long time. This is definitely the one. I followed the directions exactly with the exception of heating the whites and sugar to 160F. I would not recommend reducing the butter. I made lemon cupcakes and topped with this icing and lemon sauce. My 7 year old gave me 15 Stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States