Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This recipe is awesome!!! It was super easy to make and came out so silky and smooth. It glided on the cake making it so easy to ice. The consistency of this buttercream is very similar to a italian buttercream. The flavor is great its not to sweet. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
I halved this and had enought to lightly frost 18 cupcakes. I also added cocoa powder and it was heavenly... I didn't have a thermometer to measure the temp I just put a small glass bowl over a medium stainless steel pot with simmering water until sugar and whites were hot to the touch and the sugar was dissolved. I looked online after the fact and found that you can pasturize eggs before cracking by placing them in a pot of water until it heats to 150 degrees. Look it up on your search engine I don't remember the amount of time you have to let them sit. Thanks for the recipe this is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Castaic, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Thankfully, I tried this recipe on an occasion when there were other desserts. I read all the reviews and used some of the hints. I wanted to use only two cups of butter because three seemed like so much, but I bought three just in case. Sort of glad I did because, after two cups, I had the soupy mess others have mentioned. I added the third cup and comtinued beating, It did look like it was starting to separate but, then, suddenly, turned into a thick, smooth, fluffy and beautiful frosting. The only problem?: it tasted like butter. It was very greasy and tasted like eating whipped butter. I put it on the cake anyway and got no compliments. I didn't get to see how many people ate the cake and discarded the frosting. I refrigerated some of the leftover frosting (the recipe makes a lot!) and we used some of it tonight, instead of butter, on cornbread. Really too bad because it looked so beautiful on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
The trouble with soupy meringue is the use of a standup mixer. Meringue doesn't stand up to proteins put into the mix, i.e. butter. What does help is to have a. standup mixer b. cold butter c. egg white to sugar to butter ratio of 123...one part egg, two parts fine grain sugar, three parts butter. 2 egg whites = 1/4 C. 3/4 C egg whites (6 egg whites) + 1.5 C Sugar + 3 C Butter. This will make for a very easy to remember recipe. I put the egg whites into a metal bowl and add the sugar all at once and whisk while the boiler is heating up the whites. Whisk until NO graininess is felt when rubbing between your thumb and forefinger. Then move it to a mixing bowl afterwards and beat until fluffy...mix til cool (not even the slightest bit warm)...precubed butter into the merigue a piece at a time...add vanilla or whatever flavor you need to add...hope this helps some of you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I scaled this back to make half as much. For the half recipe I "should have" used 1 1/2 cups butter but cut that back to just the one cup. I don't remember where I read the tip to let it come to room temperature after beating and before adding the butter, but that is what I did. This was my first attempt at a meringue frosting and I was really pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Extremely easy to make and absolutely divine to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elize Hartzenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I would have to rate it three start because of the taste. It is very cream and fluffy but the only thing i did not like is that it basically taste like if you were eating butter then you get this after taste in your mouth which to me it was not good. i was wondering if i did something wrong or its just like that. Had really high hopes on this one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was so good and creamy! I followed the tips and whisked the egg whites and sugar until they reached 160 and weren't grainy at all. It took a little time to make and was well worth it. I'll be using this for all my homemade frosting projects. It wasn't overly sweet. Smooth and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I really wanted to love this, but it's just not that great. I didn't use all the butter and it still really tasted like butter, so I'm glad I didn't use it all! (It didn't taste bad, but it would have if I had used it all). Then I couldn't get it to firm up (maybe because I didn't use all the butter?) so I ended up having to add a lot of powdered sugar to get it stiff enough to frost a cupcake and not have it dripping off the sides. And I DID beat it forever with a stand mixer hoping it would firm up, but it never really did. It did taste great, but the texture was a deal-breaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Hate to give a recipe one star, but not a flavor we liked. Too buttery-even tried cutting down to a suggested amount. Sorry. Maybe you will like it seems several do. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States