Easiest, Most Delicious Meringue Buttercream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Thankfully, I tried this recipe on an occasion when there were other desserts. I read all the reviews and used some of the hints. I wanted to use only two cups of butter because three seemed like so much, but I bought three just in case. Sort of glad I did because, after two cups, I had the soupy mess others have mentioned. I added the third cup and comtinued beating, It did look like it was starting to separate but, then, suddenly, turned into a thick, smooth, fluffy and beautiful frosting. The only problem?: it tasted like butter. It was very greasy and tasted like eating whipped butter. I put it on the cake anyway and got no compliments. I didn't get to see how many people ate the cake and discarded the frosting. I refrigerated some of the leftover frosting (the recipe makes a lot!) and we used some of it tonight, instead of butter, on cornbread. Really too bad because it looked so beautiful on the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
The trouble with soupy meringue is the use of a standup mixer. Meringue doesn't stand up to proteins put into the mix, i.e. butter. What does help is to have a. standup mixer b. cold butter c. egg white to sugar to butter ratio of 123...one part egg, two parts fine grain sugar, three parts butter. 2 egg whites = 1/4 C. 3/4 C egg whites (6 egg whites) + 1.5 C Sugar + 3 C Butter. This will make for a very easy to remember recipe. I put the egg whites into a metal bowl and add the sugar all at once and whisk while the boiler is heating up the whites. Whisk until NO graininess is felt when rubbing between your thumb and forefinger. Then move it to a mixing bowl afterwards and beat until fluffy...mix til cool (not even the slightest bit warm)...precubed butter into the merigue a piece at a time...add vanilla or whatever flavor you need to add...hope this helps some of you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5Foot3
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I scaled this back to make half as much. For the half recipe I "should have" used 1 1/2 cups butter but cut that back to just the one cup. I don't remember where I read the tip to let it come to room temperature after beating and before adding the butter, but that is what I did. This was my first attempt at a meringue frosting and I was really pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5Foot3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
Extremely easy to make and absolutely divine to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elize Hartzenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
I would have to rate it three start because of the taste. It is very cream and fluffy but the only thing i did not like is that it basically taste like if you were eating butter then you get this after taste in your mouth which to me it was not good. i was wondering if i did something wrong or its just like that. Had really high hopes on this one....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
This was so good and creamy! I followed the tips and whisked the egg whites and sugar until they reached 160 and weren't grainy at all. It took a little time to make and was well worth it. I'll be using this for all my homemade frosting projects. It wasn't overly sweet. Smooth and buttery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
I really wanted to love this, but it's just not that great. I didn't use all the butter and it still really tasted like butter, so I'm glad I didn't use it all! (It didn't taste bad, but it would have if I had used it all). Then I couldn't get it to firm up (maybe because I didn't use all the butter?) so I ended up having to add a lot of powdered sugar to get it stiff enough to frost a cupcake and not have it dripping off the sides. And I DID beat it forever with a stand mixer hoping it would firm up, but it never really did. It did taste great, but the texture was a deal-breaker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Hate to give a recipe one star, but not a flavor we liked. Too buttery-even tried cutting down to a suggested amount. Sorry. Maybe you will like it seems several do. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Seeker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I live this recipe. I learned about it in a decorating class. This recipe is great for beginner icers as you can totally play with it and when it gets a little soft from playing with it you can add make to the fridge and beat it again at it is still wonderful. NOTE: if you do not cook the egg whites to right consistency you will not have icing you will have soup. You need to make sure the egg mixture is perfectly smooth that all the sugar has melted and the consistency should be somewhere between corn syrup and molasses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hector
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
This is a perfect frosting! Loved it! Excellent! I've used it for my last two cakes. The texture is awesome! you just have to be persistent and mix the heck out of it. Here are my recommendations: Heat the eggs whites and sugar until the sugar dissolves completely. Mix them until you notice that it reaches the consistency of an Italian meringue. I only used 2 1/2 cups of butter (1 1/2 unsalted and 1 with salt) I did this because I always put some salt on my sweets, it makes the flavor pop out. Incorporate butter little by little (unsalted first, then salted). The end result should be totally creamy, uniform and fluffy frosting that melts in your mouth. Enjoy! PS: I think I will be sticking to this recipe for a very long time! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hector

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States