Easiest Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
SIMPLY DELICIOUS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
The patties disentigrated in the pan making a big pan full of mush. Out of all the patties, I was only able to salvage about 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I was trying to be more calories conscious on this one, so I omitted the oil, baked them at 375 for 15 minutes and didn't roll them in panko. They were okay, a little dry, would probably be more tasty fried. If you bake, I'd definitely recommend using a tsatzki sauce. Combined with lettuce, tomates, on a naan or pita, would definitely be a hearty but healthier meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAsweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly and ended up with mush balls that caused the oil to get all bubbly and overflow all over my stove. I think this might have been better with more bread crumbs and cooked in much less oil. I have made more complicated falafel recipes with much better results and will stick with those.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I was curious to try this as it seemed very different than what we make back home in the Middle East (we don't use eggs, bread crumbs, and we use different spices). I tried it after making a number of modifications based on other reviews. First, Don't use canned garbanzo by all means! use dried ones after soaking them in water overnight. Second, there is no need for olive oil in the dough at all, it will make it very runny and you already have enough oil during frying ! Third, use fresh garlic and parsley if available. I used curry as specified but I didn't like it that much and I will be sticking to the traditional spices next time(cumin and dried coriander). Overall it wasn't that bad but not that wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarek Essam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
Loved the flavor profile after adding a little salt, but it required quite a bit of tweaking to get to the finished product. Fortunately this was not my first falafel rodeo. I doubled the panko before dropping my test dummy. It was still too loose, so I added some flour. The consistency should be closer to a bread dough than a cookie dough, but you don't want to add so much flour that it becomes dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
It was pretty good but there was not a lot of flavor. After reading reviews, I added less oil to the mixture and made sure the oil in the pan was hot (bread crumb dancing on top of oil when added to test for heat) and I was careful to let them cook for a while before flipping them. The one I didn't wait long enough for kind of got smooshy and almost fell apart. Ate them with pita bread and spicy mayo (srirachi, garlic, mayo combo) and it was good but not outstanding. I probably won't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Alright, I have made this before and from the start I listened to people: skip the oil altogether, and use that for frying instead. For those like me who know that falafel does not take curry at all, the two ingredients you actually need to use to replace that are ground cumin and ground coriander seeds, start with 1/4 tsp. each and work up from your own taste. Finally, a key to making this healthier if you wish: replace the bread crumbs with oats (yep)and work in the egg until you know you have the right consistency. You can add a little bit of water if it is too dry, as the oats will soak it up and you will have no splatter at the fry stage. Just keep in mind that if you make these with oats it fries differently and some of the crispiness may be lacking. Why I gave it 4 stars? I love falafel and this is a good general idea of where to start!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
These are really good. I skip the egg to make it vegan. QUICK NOTE: I've been seeing alot of reviews where people are stating theirs fell apart or turned to mush. You may be using too much oil, or your oil is not hot enough. When a bread crumb "dances" ON the oil, it should be a good temp. Don't crowd pan. Don't move or turn food until ready. Fry in small batches, even if your pan will hold more. And allow the oil temp to come back up in between batches. When done, set balls on cooling rack, not paper towels. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ashland, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Pretty much everybody complains about the patties falling apart, even those who liked the taste and gave it a good rating otherwise. The reason is very obvious: you NEVER use canned garbanzos to make falafel. That should really be common knowledge by now. Canned garbanzos are pre-cooked, which denaturizes the starch, which will make it very difficult to make them hold together. You'll have to add a ton of extra ingredients like bread crumbs, egg etc. The authentic way to make falafel, and the only way to make them so they actually hold together without adding all the extra stuff, is to use dried uncooked garbanzos and soak them over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States