Easiest Ever Fruit Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I A couple notes ...this can be adapted for any fruit you like , but we prefer the peach , or fresh berries (sugared in their own juice ). It is VERY easy to adjust the size , simply double or triple everything except your butter , the butter is merely portioned for the size of the pan. also , if you reduce the butter too much , you will lose that slightly crispy buttery edge that is so much a part of this recipe(the butter is SUPPOSED to puddle up a little around the edge when the batter is added ) If you're looking for a low fat , low calorie recipe , this wont be it & trying to make it so wont result in a good dessert, but if you want to splurge a little now & then , give it a try! Finally , aside from ice cream , nearly everyone I serve prefers this warm with a little milk poured over the top .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAIBRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
I don't understand why this is not rated 5 star! It is just like my Southern grandma made when I was young and I have been trying to duplicate her peach cobbler for years! if you wan't TRUE Southern peach cobbler....this one is it. The batter works great for blackerry cobbler too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
had this recipe years ago lost it my sons when they were little loved it.its so simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I added some frozen berries to this recipe. It was a bit too runny but was loved by all. I will definitely try it again but cut down on peach juice. I had to hide the remainder from my husband so he wouldn't eat the rest!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
This was OK, but not something I'd try again. It was too doughy and heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWIFEMOMOF3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Yorktown, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This was easy. Since I used canned peaches that had syrup I cut the sugar in the dough down to 1/2 cp. It turned out plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This cobbler is great! It is soooooooo easy to make too! At first I was wary because it looked to simple to be true but I was pleasantly surprised that it tasted very good! I wouldn't call it gourmet but it's as good as any cobbler I've ever had. Thanks kdb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
This turned out looking horrible, but it gets two stars for tasting good anyway and another one because it was probably my fault (or my old, derelict oven's fault) that it turned out so badly. I didn't have any self-rising flour, so I used flour and a bit of baking powder. I also used 1% milk as it was the only type we had. It seemed as though there was far too much juice with the peaches, and the topping mixture floated unappealingly on the top before I put it in the oven. The topping was only browned in some areas; the rest remained an off-white colour that looked uncooked even though it was not. All in all, it looked rather awful but, as I mentioned, it still tasted good... it's just nothing I would serve to guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2003
these were really, really good. i had to half the recipe because i only had a 15 ounce can of peaches. i also added half a teaspoon of cinnimon and a bit of nutmeg. i took it out of the oven, put a gallon of vanilla ice cream next to it, and watched'em fly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
This is very, very good! It's not too sweet. And the batter comes out moist. In fact, when I first took it out, I wasn't sure is was done. Because all I've ever had was my mom's cobbler, and I NEVER liked it. Her's was dry, very dry, like she made a cake and added fruit, blech (sorry mom). I think this might be good served with cream, or vanilla ice cream. If this is what fruit cobbler is supposed to taste like, I'll be making it often. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jandtsmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Peach Cobbler

Sweet, simple, peach dessert ready in under an hour.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Basil Peach Pepper Parmesan Cobbler

Time-tested flavor combinations come together deliciously in this simple cobbler.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States