Easiest Egg Nog Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
i tryed eggnog for my first time with this recipe and it was pretty good! the only thing was that there was still egg in it and that was pretty nasty, but i used a funnel to get most of it out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I thought this recipe was great! I like a more mild, light eggnog so I thought it was perfect. My husband thought it was better than average, but nothing special....he likes the thicker, more flavorful kind. I also added a bit of cinnamon, I thought it made it complete!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Wow! Made this as written with two additions: 1/8 tsp rum flavoring and 2 scoops vanilla ice cream. Very yummy, very much like store brand without the chemically taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
This is the same recipe my Mom alwaysed used and it bring back such good memories. (I am 64) When I bought the kind in the carton I cut it with milk because I am so used to Mom's. I came on line to find just this recipe. I think this is how egg nog is supposed to taste, although I am sure Mom used whole milk back then brought from the milk man who came every other day to put bottles in the box on the front porch. They always added whiskey or brandy to it for themselfs with just a sip for us. Hope you like it, I am going to go make some right now and put a little brandy in it to drink while I cut out my cut out cookies from the recipe from my mother in law which are the best and I will post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Klynstra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grandville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Hudsonville, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I have been using a similar recipe for years (though I've lost my cookbooks in a recent move). To make it thicker, as many people are complaining its too thin, my previous recipe used instant vanilla pudding mix instead of vanilla extract. Very yummy either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reykjavík, Höfuðborgarsvæði, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Tasted great and very simple to make... Just what I was looking for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I was surprised -- this egg nog was wonderful and very fresh tasting! I normally make Amazingly Good Egg Nog for Christmas since it is soooo rich, but my kids wanted egg nog for Thanksgiving. Our first batch was gone in a flash and my 13 year old son said it was his favorite part of Thanksgiving! We did use part half-and-half in this batch for extra creaminess. Made a second batch later in the day with all skim milk and it still tasted wonderful. Great recipe... we'll be using it often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This was good for its simplicity. I suggest if you are planning on making something small for yourself to try this recipe, However, if you plan on making this recipe for more than a couple, try a different "heavier" or thicker eggnog. I thought this eggnog was delicious, in fact I made it twice. but I prefer the thicker, richer eggnog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
Ok I made a couple of changes and it turned out great. The changes were I added another egg and simmered on med-low setting. I had it while it was still hot and the flavor was awesome. When trying new recipes I find you have to change a bit sometimes to suit your tastes. I took off the white creamy part of the egg as it tends to make it lumpy but that did not take long at all. Great recipe. And does not take long to make it. I decided to cook the recipe because my Husband is a transplant patient and I don't want to take any chances. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Raegene Mendenhall Scott

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Xenia, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
In addition to the last post, in a blender, I combined one cup of this egg nog with one whole banana. It thickened the beverage and added more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Living In: Walkerton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chocolate Egg Cream

See how to make a classic drink from the old soda fountain days!

How to Make Tea

See how to brew the perfect cup of black, green, or herbal tea.

How to Make Pour-Over Coffee

Enjoy freshly-brewed coffee, one delicious cup at a time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States