Easiest Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Oh my goodness did this really start life in a box??? This cake is just so moist and flavorful, really was a most pleasant surprise. I did make a couple of changes, not sure that the recipe needed these tweaks but knowing my own tastes thought I should. I doubled both the amounts of nutmeg and cinnamon, I used apple juice in place of the water and walnut oil in place of the vegetable oil. So delighted with the finished cake. I made one large cake instead of the 3 loafs the recipe states and cooked for 60 minutes, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Made this recipe with gluten free yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding mix. I made it in a bundt pan and it turned out well. The second time I added pecans and raisins and also turned out well. I used cinnamon and ground cloves and my homemade tart applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Oh my goodness. This is the best applesauce cake ever. It is so moist it melts in your mouth. As the others have said, it only makes 2 not 3. You better hide the second one because it would be really easy to eat that one right away too. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Super moist and yummy:) I followed exactly the recipe, but only used a bundt cake pan instead. Best cake mix recipe I have ever made...we love it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcakephx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Very moist, very tasty but I would use a tad less nutmeg---I am just not too crazy about the taste of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very moist and delicious! I baked the entire batter in a bundt cake pan, then served it drizzled with warm carmel sauce. It was fabulous! The cake is terrific alone...but adding a bit of carmel sauce (for ice cream) made it out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
It is really easy. Made some modifications due to availablity of things in the house! See custom recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Quick and easy! yummmmmy, moist, went down well with my family. To remove all doubt about how many loaf pans, just devide mix in six 1pt canning jars, (flour and grease) bake for same amount of time, heat lids and caps. As the cake comes out of the oven whipe rims of jars and adjust caps immediately. Jars will seal, cake will keep for months saving freezer space. Yes, the cake will come out of the jar when cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My 4 year old loves to make and eat this bread. We found that 2 -9 inch loaves work the best, and they are ready after 42 minutes in a 350 degree oven. Easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie
Home Town: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
For Diabetic Folks like my family here is a great tip. I Used the Pillsbury Sugar Free Cake Mix and a Sugar Free Pudding mix. I used my own homemade Spiced applesauce (Also No Sugar Added). You would never know the difference. My Son LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States