Easiest Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
What a GEM of a recipe ...Thanks eagles1955 Beware this makes 2 loaf pans NOT 3 as stated. Made a few minor changes, added 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/3 each chopped pecans and raisins, the loaves came out perfect in evey way, very moist and tasty ... If you like this recipe try Country Banana Bread from this site. It uses a yellow cake mix as a base also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Very moist and delicious! I baked the entire batter in a bundt cake pan, then served it drizzled with warm carmel sauce. It was fabulous! The cake is terrific alone...but adding a bit of carmel sauce (for ice cream) made it out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
very good. I didn't have instant pudding so I left it out. I sprinkled cinnamon sugar over the top before baking. Great flavor, I will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIETAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Glad I read the reviews before I made this, definitely use only 2 loaf pans. I added the suggested raisins & walnuts, & added 1/4 tsp each cloves & ginger, yummy! Easy, nice & moist. Next time I would add a topping, perhaps some a drizzled butter, cinnamon, sugar mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I really like the use of the loaf pans, one cake for now and one for the freezer. Definitely use two not three loaf pans. I topped the cakes with a lemon iceing that added a lot of flavor. I also used apple juice instead of water. I will make this cake again using a spice cake mix and using less spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Oh my goodness did this really start life in a box??? This cake is just so moist and flavorful, really was a most pleasant surprise. I did make a couple of changes, not sure that the recipe needed these tweaks but knowing my own tastes thought I should. I doubled both the amounts of nutmeg and cinnamon, I used apple juice in place of the water and walnut oil in place of the vegetable oil. So delighted with the finished cake. I made one large cake instead of the 3 loafs the recipe states and cooked for 60 minutes, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is yummy! Okay, I confess; I went in a different direction by using Jell-O's Pumpkin Spice pudding mix, which left it with a very nice but very mild pumpkin flavor. Also, I didn't have any nutmeg so I used pumpkin pie spice (still used the cinnamon too though). Lastly, I substituted orange-pineapple juice instead of the water for flavor & to give it a little citrusy note. All in all, the flavor is very good; it's a like a lighter, less intense, less dense version of a pumpkin bread. I bet it would be really good with spice cake mix instead of yellow! Also, I think it would be great with raisins, currants, and/or nuts added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Unfortunately, I believed the instuctions and made it into 3 loaves. This resulted in a very dry cake (after only 40 minutes of cooking time!) I found it very bland and tasteless. Wish these recipes could be tested before being printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
My 4 year old loves to make and eat this bread. We found that 2 -9 inch loaves work the best, and they are ready after 42 minutes in a 350 degree oven. Easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie
Home Town: Pardeeville, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Moist and yummy! I followed another review and used apple juice instead of water. Also added some raisins and walnuts. I didn't have two loaf pans so I divided the batter between one loaf pan and a mini bundt pan. The little cakes are so cute, and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States