Easiest Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
What a GEM of a recipe ...Thanks eagles1955 Beware this makes 2 loaf pans NOT 3 as stated. Made a few minor changes, added 1/4 tsp ground cloves and 1/3 each chopped pecans and raisins, the loaves came out perfect in evey way, very moist and tasty ... If you like this recipe try Country Banana Bread from this site. It uses a yellow cake mix as a base also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2003
Unfortunately, I believed the instuctions and made it into 3 loaves. This resulted in a very dry cake (after only 40 minutes of cooking time!) I found it very bland and tasteless. Wish these recipes could be tested before being printed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I really like the use of the loaf pans, one cake for now and one for the freezer. Definitely use two not three loaf pans. I topped the cakes with a lemon iceing that added a lot of flavor. I also used apple juice instead of water. I will make this cake again using a spice cake mix and using less spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2004
Glad I read the reviews before I made this, definitely use only 2 loaf pans. I added the suggested raisins & walnuts, & added 1/4 tsp each cloves & ginger, yummy! Easy, nice & moist. Next time I would add a topping, perhaps some a drizzled butter, cinnamon, sugar mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I made this over Mother's Day weekend for six people as well as my house every one loved it. It was a very moist cake. I tried some of the suggestions from other reviews, I used the butter, cinnamon & sugar for a glaze as well as sugar, water & cinnamon I also used apple juice instead of water. I will be making this again. I used 2 pans not three worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
And another thing! 3 servings? I don't think so! Think more like 8. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe. Easy to make and everyone loved. Great for dessert or breakfast. I did use only 2 loaf pans though, instead of the three the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I realy enjoyed this. I thought it would go great with some whipped topping. The nutmeg and the cinnamon were very pronounced in this recipe. It made the house smell wonderful!! Definently use only 2 pans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Oh my goodness this was probably the best cake I have ever eaten! My family is extremely picky and cautious about trying new things, but they loved it. I would suggest serving it with vanilla frozen yogurt on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is SO good. As mentioned previously, go with 2 loaf pans instead of 3. The end result is a moist cake with a great spicy apple taste. It reminds me of apple cider. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States