Easiest Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by flutewoman3
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Yummy cake... I made this for my daughter's first birthday party so I wanted something a little fancier than just loaf pans. I did one large tube pan and one tiny one for my baby. I drizzled a little icing on them both and put some whole pecans on the big cake. Next time I'll cut back the nutmeg to 1/4 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
very good. I didn't have instant pudding so I left it out. I sprinkled cinnamon sugar over the top before baking. Great flavor, I will definatly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VEGGIETAIL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
This is yummy! Okay, I confess; I went in a different direction by using Jell-O's Pumpkin Spice pudding mix, which left it with a very nice but very mild pumpkin flavor. Also, I didn't have any nutmeg so I used pumpkin pie spice (still used the cinnamon too though). Lastly, I substituted orange-pineapple juice instead of the water for flavor & to give it a little citrusy note. All in all, the flavor is very good; it's a like a lighter, less intense, less dense version of a pumpkin bread. I bet it would be really good with spice cake mix instead of yellow! Also, I think it would be great with raisins, currants, and/or nuts added to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Moist and yummy! I followed another review and used apple juice instead of water. Also added some raisins and walnuts. I didn't have two loaf pans so I divided the batter between one loaf pan and a mini bundt pan. The little cakes are so cute, and still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is SO good. As mentioned previously, go with 2 loaf pans instead of 3. The end result is a moist cake with a great spicy apple taste. It reminds me of apple cider. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Oh my goodness this was probably the best cake I have ever eaten! My family is extremely picky and cautious about trying new things, but they loved it. I would suggest serving it with vanilla frozen yogurt on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
I realy enjoyed this. I thought it would go great with some whipped topping. The nutmeg and the cinnamon were very pronounced in this recipe. It made the house smell wonderful!! Definently use only 2 pans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
This is a great recipe. Easy to make and everyone loved. Great for dessert or breakfast. I did use only 2 loaf pans though, instead of the three the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
And another thing! 3 servings? I don't think so! Think more like 8. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
I made this over Mother's Day weekend for six people as well as my house every one loved it. It was a very moist cake. I tried some of the suggestions from other reviews, I used the butter, cinnamon & sugar for a glaze as well as sugar, water & cinnamon I also used apple juice instead of water. I will be making this again. I used 2 pans not three worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States