Easiest Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Yes, only 2 loaf pans, not 3 as stated in the recipe, but this is a keeper. The first time I made this I followed the recipe, and the cake was very good. The second time I made a few alterations for adult consumption, and it was amazing! I used a Spice cake mix, and butterscotch pudding mix. I also added the following: 1/4 tsp ground cloves, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1/3 cup rum soaked raisins, and instead of the water I used 1/4 cup applejuice and 1/4 cup rum. I topped it with a streusel mix (here is my base recipe: 3/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup flour, 1 Tbsp water (can also add a drop of vanilla, if desired), 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 cup butter, 1/3 cup chopped pecans. Mix together until combined and crumbly. I make a batch and freeze it, then use as required). The cake was amazing - moist, flavourful, spicy but not too sweet! I had to bake another batch for my husband to take to work, and received rave reviews. It freezes well, if it lasts that long! The last time I made this I went a little over-the-top and used Calvados instead of water, with a caramel drizzle instead of the streusel. It was divine! After reading the reviews, I can hardly wait to try some of the other combinations and alterations. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Followed directions exactly, except for using 1 tsp of apple pie spice instead of 1/2 tsp each of nutmeg and cinnamon, and using only 2 pans. YUM! And making two separate cakes afforded us the opportunity to store one for later! Didn't need any kind of frosting. We'll have it with vanilla ice cream after dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Really great with cream cheese icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this and it was yummy. I used a 9x13 pan though and thru in walnuts and raisins like people suggested, but it would have been excellent without. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wayne, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This cake was AWESOME!! I didn't have a yellow box cake on hand so I substituted a french vanilla cake mix. Followed the recipe as written other than that and boy am I glad I chose this cake. The flavor was sweet and spicy without being overly sweet and spicy. I baked individual mini cakes to give as Christmas gifts and everyone loved how moist and delicious they were. I will definately make this again(and again)! It goes terrific with coffee!!!!! Please try it, you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Dudley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stanardsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Made this in a Bundt pan and baked for about 50 minutes. Accidentally used 1/4 cup of water instead of 1/2, but it still came out amazing. I used a tablespoon of cinnamon and a 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves; omitted the nutmeg because I'm not fond of it. I will made this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheriw1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landover Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Oh my goodness. This is the best applesauce cake ever. It is so moist it melts in your mouth. As the others have said, it only makes 2 not 3. You better hide the second one because it would be really easy to eat that one right away too. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Made this recipe with gluten free yellow cake mix and vanilla pudding mix. I made it in a bundt pan and it turned out well. The second time I added pecans and raisins and also turned out well. I used cinnamon and ground cloves and my homemade tart applesauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
For Diabetic Folks like my family here is a great tip. I Used the Pillsbury Sugar Free Cake Mix and a Sugar Free Pudding mix. I used my own homemade Spiced applesauce (Also No Sugar Added). You would never know the difference. My Son LOVED IT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Oh my goodness did this really start life in a box??? This cake is just so moist and flavorful, really was a most pleasant surprise. I did make a couple of changes, not sure that the recipe needed these tweaks but knowing my own tastes thought I should. I doubled both the amounts of nutmeg and cinnamon, I used apple juice in place of the water and walnut oil in place of the vegetable oil. So delighted with the finished cake. I made one large cake instead of the 3 loafs the recipe states and cooked for 60 minutes, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States