Easiest Applesauce Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Russell
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I added a topping of apples and brown sugar and made mu own butter cream icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I made the this recipe using 2 pans also. I used sugar free pudding mix instead, still turned out great. Super moist. Making more today using a banana pudding mix. also tried white chocolate sugar free too. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
The cake it's self is super sweet. I shouldn't have made that caramel frosting to go on top! I had to make it in a 9x13 because I didn't have loaf pans. Cooked for about the same time. Everything turned out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eaten By A SHARK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Yes, only 2 loaf pans, not 3 as stated in the recipe, but this is a keeper. The first time I made this I followed the recipe, and the cake was very good. The second time I made a few alterations for adult consumption, and it was amazing! I used a Spice cake mix, and butterscotch pudding mix. I also added the following: 1/4 tsp ground cloves, 1/4 tsp ground ginger, 1/3 cup rum soaked raisins, and instead of the water I used 1/4 cup applejuice and 1/4 cup rum. I topped it with a streusel mix (here is my base recipe: 3/4 cup brown sugar, 3/4 cup flour, 1 Tbsp water (can also add a drop of vanilla, if desired), 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 cup butter, 1/3 cup chopped pecans. Mix together until combined and crumbly. I make a batch and freeze it, then use as required). The cake was amazing - moist, flavourful, spicy but not too sweet! I had to bake another batch for my husband to take to work, and received rave reviews. It freezes well, if it lasts that long! The last time I made this I went a little over-the-top and used Calvados instead of water, with a caramel drizzle instead of the streusel. It was divine! After reading the reviews, I can hardly wait to try some of the other combinations and alterations. A winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marieskey

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Followed directions exactly, except for using 1 tsp of apple pie spice instead of 1/2 tsp each of nutmeg and cinnamon, and using only 2 pans. YUM! And making two separate cakes afforded us the opportunity to store one for later! Didn't need any kind of frosting. We'll have it with vanilla ice cream after dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Really great with cream cheese icing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I made this and it was yummy. I used a 9x13 pan though and thru in walnuts and raisins like people suggested, but it would have been excellent without. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mcalester, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Wayne, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This cake was AWESOME!! I didn't have a yellow box cake on hand so I substituted a french vanilla cake mix. Followed the recipe as written other than that and boy am I glad I chose this cake. The flavor was sweet and spicy without being overly sweet and spicy. I baked individual mini cakes to give as Christmas gifts and everyone loved how moist and delicious they were. I will definately make this again(and again)! It goes terrific with coffee!!!!! Please try it, you wont be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Dudley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stanardsville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Made this in a Bundt pan and baked for about 50 minutes. Accidentally used 1/4 cup of water instead of 1/2, but it still came out amazing. I used a tablespoon of cinnamon and a 1/4 teaspoon of ground cloves; omitted the nutmeg because I'm not fond of it. I will made this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheriw1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Landover Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Oh my goodness. This is the best applesauce cake ever. It is so moist it melts in your mouth. As the others have said, it only makes 2 not 3. You better hide the second one because it would be really easy to eat that one right away too. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States