Earthquake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
These are so easy and awesome. A very chewy cookie with just the perfect sweetness from the extra powder sugar on the outside. I made these with rainbow chip cake mix...no frosting needed. The kids can even make these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2002
I made this recipe with a french vanilla cake and red sprinkles mixed in. They were awesome. Thank you very much. UPDATE: I use Butter Flavored Shortening
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
Great cookies! I preheated my oven (I assumed I was supposed to) and didn't have any problems. The batter is VERY thick so definitely use only a spoon to mix it, or be ready to scrap your beaters. Bake them until the sugar has almost disappeared and they'll be perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
These are FANTASTIC! They will still be very soft when you take them out of the oven, but they become less soft as they cool - don't leave them in too long or they'll be hard when they cool. I took 3 dozen to about 15 college students and they were GONE in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krista A.
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I used yellow cake mix and margarin instead of shortening, and my brother and I thought they were absolutely amazing. I can't wait to try a different type of mix! There are so many possibilities!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Delicious! This was a very easy recipe to make too. My kids had fun rolling the balls in the sugar. I used dark chocolate cake mix and butter flavored shortening instead. I have also tried this with vanilla cake mix for those non-chocolate lovers (although they aren't as cool looking). I took this to a Christmas party and they were gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
These cookies were just what I was looking for. An easy out of the box cookie crave! they were perfectly moist and the powder sugar adds an extra nice touch. This is definetly a recipe to keep! Thanks Topoac
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
i absolutely LOVE this recipe for its ease and its versatility. I've even used butter instead of shortening, and it came out great! i've done it with strawberry cake mix for strawberry cookies. for the chocolate ones, i've even placed some halved andes mints on the top, let it melt, and spread it around for chocolate mint cookies. it's the best! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
MADE THESE WITH THREE DIFFERENT CAKE MIXES AND TOOK TO GRADUATION PARTY. THEY WENT FASTER THAN ANYTHING ELSE ON SWEETS TABLE. THESE WILL BE MADE AGAIN AND AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocean City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
VERY simple cookie that packs a lot of punch! I used a devil's food cake mix and they turned out great! Only one word of warning: they crumble easily so I would't use them for a cookie exchange. I did and found that they fell apart much quicker than the other cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chapin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wentzville, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States