Earthquake Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
I included this recipe in my Christmas Cookie tins for my coworkers and they were a HUGE hit!! I used red velvet cake mix to keep it fun, and they turned out to be really delicious! I will definitely make these again! I took away a star just because they were so gosh-darn difficult to mix. It advises not to use a mixer but a spoon instead, so I used a big wooden spoon and I was afraid it was going to snap off! Maybe the shortening could be microwaved a few seconds to loosen it up? Anyway, it took a good 10 minutes and serious effort to get it combined, but once it was they were super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Great recipe! I used carrot cake mix with walnuts and shortening, they came out super tasty. Helpful hint use a good amount of powdered sugar as some of my cookies didn't get the desired cracked look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VCRUZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Super easy! Super yummy! I creamed the shortening and eggs first, then mixed in the cake mix. I also went heavy on the powdered sugar so it didn't all melt away. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beautycake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
There are not enough stars for me to rate. I used lemon cake mix and they were to die for, I mean really. My mother in law was here and we could all use extra points lol! I really hope you try it. I think many variations of cake mix could be used. Thanks for the great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
They disappeared like lightning! hahaha! thanks for this great yet simple recipe. everyone at work loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
excellent!! so easy and very tasty. i am at high altitude and had to alter nothing. i also used plain white cake mix and they were delicious! highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon Benson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
These where yummy and easy! I used chocolate cake mix and split the batch, adding chocolate chips to half and peanut butter to the other half. Both were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Wollens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I didn't think these were great. I would prefer to eat just cake, or else some other type of cookie. These were not moist and delicious as the cake mix would have been if cooked as directed, plus, the shortening makes it even less healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Easy and chocolatey delicious! I thought these were excellent (and I am not a big fan of chocolate cookies.) I used the mixer because hand mixing with a spoon was tiring. Turned out crunchy on the outside, chewy on the inside. Just yummy! Reminds me of brownies. Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Great cookies, definitely a keeper!! We used devils food cake mix and added peanut butter chips and a touch of vanilla extract. My husband LOVES them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Pensel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States