Earth, Sea and Fire Salmon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Patty Cakes
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
I simply cannot Believe it's taken me SO LONG to eat this fish dish! OMG:) I used a chicken rub (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Roasted-Chicken-Rub/?prop31=1) on this a few hours before dinner. Fantastic flavor!! I didn't have any mushrooms, LOL too lazy to go to back to the market:)"". I read that some folks had trouble getting the potatoes to cook, so I hedged my bets and nuked mine before I put them on the fish. I was going for a pretty presentation, so I stacked everything On top. Cynthia, you waited a LONG time for a photo, I hope you like it.:) Thank you very much! Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I felt like this is totally restaurant-worthy. It was delicious, easy to make, and adheres to my GF/DF diet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I also had trouble getting the potatoes to cook even when I used the longer cooking time specified. Maybe if I had sliced them with the food processor (which would get them thinner than by hand) or covered the dish with foil (it wasn't specified in the recipe) it would have helped, but I can just bake salmon, sautee vegetables, and steam or bake potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
May I suggest for those like myself who have a hard time deciding from all the wonderful recipes here: I was torn between this and the "spicy garlic salmon" recipe. I LOVE the fact that all the ingredients for a full meal are in this one and that the natural taste would definately blend well, but again I was torn... so I combined the two.. the mushrooms were underneath the salmon and then the sauce for the salmon taken from the spicy garlic version!!! mmmmmm. Thanks for a great meal idea :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Very good recipe. It took longer than 45 minutes for the potatoes to cook, so next time I would be sure to cut them thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very nice recipe, easy to play with. I was concerned that the salmon would overcook in that amount of time so I mixed the veggies and cut the mushroom into large pieces and sprayed all with a mixture of the lemon juice, sesame oil and olive oil. I pan roasted the seasoned veggies (yam instead of potato) for 15 minutes and then popped marinated salmon on top for another 30 minutes or so. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
This is VERY GOOD! Some of the reviews make me wonder if people actually followed the recipe. It is true that the potatoes dont get done enough, realizing this we actually cut the potatoes super thin and cooked them with the onions for fifteen minutes... But they still werent done. This dish has a very simple, clean flavor. We made sure to season each layer very well with salt and pepper and followed the recipe to the letter. Will definitely make again but cook potatoes longer before adding the rest of the ingredients....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
This is a wonderful recipe. Very tasty, easy to make, and looks attractive. I used one enormous sweet onion, fresh red pepper strips, and canned mushroom pieces instead of the portabellos. I baked it on the lowest rack to be sure the potatoes cooked through (and sliced them less than 1/2" thick). The onion was slightly undercooked, crisp-tender and sweet. The baking dish was nearly full, and made a very appetizing appearance on the table. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Vernon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This turned out pretty good, but the timings are way off. Like others have noted, 45 minutes is way too long to bake a piece of salmon. I sliced my potatoes paper thin, and they were just about all cooked properly after 35 mins. I then added the salmon, and baked for another 12. This was ok, but I wouldn't make it again. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This recipie was a hit with my family! They loved it, but I agree with Konnan the potatos are still crunchy after the 45 minuts. I advise to cook the potatos atleast 15 mins befor everything else, to give them a chance to cook and not OVER cook the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crispy Skin Salmon on Potato Mushroom Salad

Pan-seared salmon with mushrooms, potatoes, and a cherry tomato relish.

How to Make Salmon in Parchment

See how to make a moist salmon fillet baked in parchment paper.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States