Early Times Mint Julep Recipe Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
I really liked this method of making the simple syrup. To me the mint infuses better when the water is boiling. I made these with Maker's Mark - yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KLBUMB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2007
This is the only way to make simple syrup! I didn't have quite enough time to let the syrup and mint sit overnight, but it was still quite tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I had made simple syrup for another drink recipe so it wasn't infused with mint. However, this was delicious! I used Maker's Mark and the syrup worked wonderfully with the whiskey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This recipe is right on. Just a note to all: You can make the simple syrup, and make tea boiled down until SUPER STRONG. Keep both in the frig. Then pour into an ice filled glass, 1/4th tea and 1/4th julep syrup and fill the rest of the way with water. Wonderful way to pass an afternoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ttkc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I had some mint-infused simple syrup in the fridge for mojitos, so I thought I'd give this a try. Of course it's strong... Anyone can see that by reading the recipe. Mint juleps are supposed to be that way, so use a nice, smooth sippin' bourbon. I used Early Times this time around and, although technically not "bourbon", it was great! Another reviewer mentioned adding a bit of tea, and I think that sounds really refreshing! Time for another sip...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALEIGH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda (LMT)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
I enjoyed this drink very much! It's meant to be SIPPED ice cold and is refreshing on a very warm day. After mixing let it sit for a couple minutes so it gets icey cold. The minty simple syrup is wonderful and added so much more than plain simple syrup and crushed mint that some recipes note. I used honey bourbon which is a bit sweeter than regular bourbon and I found the ratio of bourbon to syrup was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda (LMT)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I always wanted to try one of these and it was really good. I used Jack Daniels. I would make it exactly as recipe states next time, as it sounds fatastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Best

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
I did enjoy this recipe, but not everyone that I served it to enjoyed it as much. I found that if you add twice as much more simple syrup to each drink that they will be better received. Unless you have a kentucky whisky lover, then leave it the way the recipe reads. This was okay, always wanted to try but haven't until now. I think that if we were in the hot sun at the Kentucky Derby the drink would make more sense than after dinner drinks during winter at home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
Wow, I don't know what I was expecting, but these were really strong. The taste of whisky overpowered everything - I couldn't even tell there was mint or simple syrup in it. I'll be sticking with mojitos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
not my type of drink
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mint Julep Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix up a classic Mint Julep.

Sazerac Cocktail

This classic rye whiskey cocktail is the official drink of New Orleans.

Peaches 'N Mint Juice

This refreshing juice stars peaches, apples, lime, and fresh mint.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States