Eagles Tailgating Burgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
YUMMY! Awesome Burger! I had seconds! Oh, and Marlena, concerning Sam's Famous Carrot Cake (my recipe) if you do the bath tub thing...let me know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Did not change a thing. These are some of the best burgers ever. Perfect for the grill. UPDATE: We've made these a number of times now, so we don't always have all the ingredients on hand. You can substitute italian style bread crumbs for the garlic and herb, any type of full bodied beer will do (we used Michelob lager, beer just gives it more moisture). You can use parmesan instead of romano and you can use 1/2 to 1 Tbsp. of dried basil vs. fresh or just leave it out depending on your tastes. After mixing everything together and making the patties we always leave them in the fridge for a half hour to let all the ingredients time to settle before grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
We served these burgers at my son's first birthday party. It was a hit. My six year old nephew loved them and he has refused hamburgers for his whole life. He liked them so much he ate two and they were easily 1/3 lb burgers. I would definitely makes these again. No changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Best burgers I've ever had. Made a few minor changes, but pretty much stuck to the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
Just not for us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2009
It sounded better than it tasted in my opinion. I do like the fresh basil in the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
These are fantastic Burgers! Here are my changes: I used a 3 cheese blend of parmesean, romano, asiago. I did not add any of the beer. I used a white onion instead of green, and added a green pepper (very finely chopped so the meat holds together). I also put the meat in the fridge for about an hour before grilling because it helps the patties hold up. Other than that I followed everything, and these were some of the best. I have tried the dried basil, but stick to the fresh basil if you can, it has a much fresher taste, and really comes through in the burger. DO NOT RUIN THIS BURGER WITH A CRAPPY BUN, buy a nice kaiser or something from the bakery, butter it and toast it on the grill. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jjm1982

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I don't know what I did wrong, but my hamburgers would NOT stay together... They tasted good, but fell apart too easily. I'll try them one more time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I followed the recipe with the only difference being the type of beer. The burgers completely fell apart and were near impossible to flip. I think the coals got more than I did. The flavor was quite good though. This recipe would make an excellent meatball but it just doesn't work well for grilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Flavor was good, but they fell apart way too easily on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Grill Burgers

Watch five terrific tips for building and grilling the best burgers on the block.

Juicy Lucy Burgers

See how to make juicy burgers with the cheese melted right inside the patties!

Gyros Burgers

See how to make a Greek-style hamburger with ground lamb and beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States