EAGLE BRAND® Banana Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
I followed this recipe exactly, only I needed more like 4 bananas (but I like A LOT of bananas) and I blotted the bananas dry after dipping in the lemon juice so that I wouldn't get a lemony flavor. It's a great recipe. Much easier than my previous recipe which required tempering of eggs and always had to be doubled. This makes a 'proper' amount of filling so that you have a good sized pie. The flavor is a LITTLE rich and a LITTLE on the sweet side, but not overly so. You just won't be able to sit down and eat the whole pie. If you are not used to making banana cream pie you must make SURE that your filling is completely cool or room temp...even the slightest amount of heat will cause the bananas to turn black.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
Awesome. Pretty much sums it up! Everyone who had it loved it. I was a little worried about dipping the bananas in the lemon juice, but it didn't taste lemony at all. To decorate the top of the pie, I placed 8 banana slices on the top and then I melted about a 1/4 c. chocolate chips with about 1 tsp. of Crisco and drizzled it over the banana slices mainly with a little drizzling in the center...looked really impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This recipe is idiot proof...Hubby and I just loved it, the only change I made was 4 bananas (they were the small ones) and I used "light" condensed milk it was great(its all I had in the cupboard.) This will be my only recipe for banana cream pie... You will not go wrong using this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
All I can say is DELISH! This pie is the best. I usually use Jello cook n' serve pie filling for my banana pies and thought that was how it was supposed to taste. Boy was I wrong! This pie is just wonderful. Hubby didn't usually eat banana cream pie, he tasted this one because I told him it was a new recipe and I think he has eaten 1/2! With a mouthful of pie, he told me to not loose this recipe. I will make this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
I think this recipe was a very quick and simple recipe to follow. I didn't pour the whole can of sweetened condensed milk in because I knew it would be too sweet for me. Instead, I used half the can. Other than that, I did everything according to the recipe, and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
i was leary to make a cream pie of any kind b/c i thought i wouldnt be able to do it. B/c i tend to rush things along, but this was so easy, and the custard was done very quickly. it took longer to bake the pre-made pie crust for 15 minutes than it did to make the custard. my hubby loved this, he ate 2 pieces right away. not too sweet and very creamy. very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
Excellent!!Don't be leary of the lemon juice-the pie did not pick up any of the lemon flavor-I think it actually brings out the flavor of the bananas-delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
My best friend is a huge banana cream pie fan and I've made other that were mush. This was fantistic. She's expecting her second child and now has craving for this particular pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
This turned out fantastic. Next time I will use extra bananas. I served it with whipped cream and slivered almonds on top. YUM! Very easy to make, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Yummy is the best description I can give. I made 2 and they did not go to waste! Almost like banana pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States