EAGLE BRAND® Banana Cream Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2007
Very Very good, even my pickey grandfather liked it a lot, now that is saying something
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
My best friend is a huge banana cream pie fan and I've made other that were mush. This was fantistic. She's expecting her second child and now has craving for this particular pie. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jowolf2
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Very easy and tasty. I added 1/2 cup toasted coconut to the bottom of the pie, before I poured the filling in, for a little more texture. Otherwise followed recipe exactly and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I made this pie for Thansgiving and it turned out really good. The only suggestion I would make is maybe add some Knox gellatin, because after about a day in the fridge, the pie got kinda melty.Also use Eagles brand sweetend condensed milk, not an off brand, it really makes a difference to the taste. I used extra bananas and dipped them fresh lemon juice, because that was all i had. Then i dried them a little on paper towels, and no lemony flavor was present. I think the pie overall is very good, and I had fun decorating it with sliced bananas and whip cream that i made out of the egg whites. YUMMY! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This pie was so wonderful. I used extra bananas. The only problem that I had was the filling didn't set firm enough. I think I might add a little gelatin next time I make the pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elk Grove, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This recipe was so easy and the pie was just wonderful. I will definitely make it again. I tasted the filling before I added it to the pie crust and worried that the pie was going to be too sweet, but with the finished combination of pie crust, bananas and unsweetened whipped cream it was perfect. I also used an earlier reviewer's suggestion and drizzled some melted chocolate over the top, which is an addition that I would highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
I normally make my cream pie from scratch (scalded milk, eggs, flour, sugar, butter, and vanilla), I am requested to make it because no one makes it like mine (they use a box). I wanted to try something that omitted the scalded milk step. I tried this one, it set up wonderful, better than my normal kind but it lacked in everything else. They said it tasted "fake" (aka box). I did notice when it was cooling it formed a skin on the top, if you place a piece of plastic wrap directly on top of the pudding it will stop that from happening. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRINCESSKAROLY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
I'm going to try this recipe again - following it to a "t" - then maybe change my rating. I made a few changes and I think that may have affected things - for the worst. I added two pureed bananas to the custard because we like lots of banana flavor. I'm not sure if the banana was the culpret, but the custard had a weird texture. It also didn't set up firm. Is it supposed to be firm? Also, I like a graham crust, but didn't have any, so I used crushed homemade sugar cookies (very good!) Also, after reading some of the reviews, I think some people may be a little confused about the lemon juice...In this recipe, it's not for flavoring - any time you add an acid (like lemon juice) to fruits and veggies (like bananas and potatoes) it keeps them from turning brown when exposed to air.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShawnaRae
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
i was leary to make a cream pie of any kind b/c i thought i wouldnt be able to do it. B/c i tend to rush things along, but this was so easy, and the custard was done very quickly. it took longer to bake the pre-made pie crust for 15 minutes than it did to make the custard. my hubby loved this, he ate 2 pieces right away. not too sweet and very creamy. very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShawnaRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mission Valley, Texas, USA
Living In: Goliad, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This recipe is idiot proof...Hubby and I just loved it, the only change I made was 4 bananas (they were the small ones) and I used "light" condensed milk it was great(its all I had in the cupboard.) This will be my only recipe for banana cream pie... You will not go wrong using this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States